Turning it Over

Step 3:  Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understand him

God’s will is not an itinerary, but an attitude.  ~Andrew Dhuse

On Monday I celebrated my birthday, thanks for the birthday wishes!  Yesterday I had the opportunity to visit my “longest” friend (I would say oldest but that sounds offensive).  It had been a few years since I’ve seen her, but like all authentic friendships, it was as if not a day had passed since I’ve seen her last.  We had several hours together, and were able to connect in that way only friends with shared history can.  It took me until almost the end of our time together, but I finally summoned the courage to tell her about my addiction, and my recovery.  You know how it is said that most times when an alcoholic believes he is telling someone the news for the first time, it usually not the surprise that he thought it would be?  That was not the case yesterday, and so my confession was difficult, but, in then end, a liberating experience.

Since yesterday, I have spent some time contemplating the entire experience, reflecting on how she took the news I shared as well as how I felt about the various issues in her life.  It was illuminating, and yet so simple!  First, everyone has problems (duh, but sometimes I really forget), and worrying about whether my problems are better or worse than anyone else’s problems couldn’t be a more pointless exercise.  Second, and way more important, there is one bottom line to all problems in life… turn it over to God.  Period.  Connecting with a Higher Power, and giving Him my worries, is the solution to any situation that comes along.  The opposite of fear is faith, so if you have faith, there is truly nothing to fear!

Posted on November 14, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful post. Just the shot needed for today – always good to get a good ole’ fashion shot of reality. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. So true which makes it strange that God is always the first thing I forget when distressed.

    Like

  3. I can so identify with this post. Telling a close friend I was an alcoholic and in recovery. It’s scary in a way because of the fear that such a radical change will somehow hurt the relationship. It’s nice now to look back and see that I lost NONE of the friends that truly mattered and we are just as close and fun together as we always were.

    I love the title of your blog, by the way. I remember the first meeting I went to when I got sober and a couple people said to me, “Stick around for the miracle.” I remember thinking, what miracle? What are they talking about? And what they meant was so comprehensive that I never would have gotten it back then.

    Great post!

    XO

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

MessyJessy

The emotional messy stuff...

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

