Keeping It Green

This is another common expression in the rooms of AA, and one that I have come up against several times in as many days.  It means, for an addict, keeping the true memory of what it was like in active addiction fresh in your mind.  After some sober time (apparently, I cannot speak from experience), it becomes easy to forget how bad the bad times really were.   And once you forget the bad times, it becomes fairly easy to take the next step, which is to think it wouldn’t be so bad to have just one drink, since everyone else is having one, or if I used drugs just one time, I won’t do it more than once… you get the picture.

So how do you keep it green?  According to AA, going to meetings regularly is the easiest way to keep the memories fresh.  That is because (and now I can speak from experience) you very often will hear the story of someone coming into the program for the first time, or for the first time since a relapse, and in hearing their story you are reminded of your own personal “bottom.”  I had this experience three times in the past three days, and I’ll tell you, there is nothing more powerful at a meeting than hearing the raw pain of someone at the end of their rope.

At five months sober today, I don’t necessarily feel like I need to be reminded, because memories of my personal bottom are still fresh in my mind, but at the same time I guess it never hurts to  have this very important truth reinforced… it is much, much easier to stay sober than it is to get sober!

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 5 months…an incredible milestone! Yet you don’t “rest on your laurels” and you grow more everyday. So very proud of you and what you have already accomplished and happy that I can be there to cheer on the many accomplishments yet to come!

    Like

  2. First of all, congrats on 5 months – a great milestone. You should be really proud, yet you recognize the fact that you have to keep going. I am so grateful that I can be there for all that you have accomplished and all the good that is to come.

    Like

  3. Congrats on 5 months – what a miracle!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

MessyJessy

The emotional messy stuff...

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

