M(3), 5/2/16: All Gods Are Welcome

choyiimu0aeh4ks

Another Monday, another great meeting!

Today reading came from Chapter 4 in Alcoholics Anonymous (The Big Book), “We Agnostics.”  I’m too lazy to go back and check, but I’m fairly confident I have never selected this reading from the book in the 3 1/2 years I’ve been running this meeting!

But it’s a great one to read for anyone struggling with the concept of a Higher Power.  I will sheepishly admit this is not a chapter to which I have paid great attention through the years; never having considered myself an agnostic, I generally thought my time was better spent on other chapters.

But in reading this morning, I related to the idea of the rewards of open-mindedness.  The chapter speaks of ways in which history has proven the benefit of considering all possibilities, rather than assuming your way of thinking is the only way of thinking.

It reminded me of a time, years before I got sober, I bemoaned my inability to control my drinking.  “I just want to drink like normal people!”  To which the counselor replied, “Do you realize that ‘normal drinking’ for many people means not drinking at all?”

I may as well have walked out the office for as much attention I paid after that comment.

Because for me, at that time, there was no conception of a life without alcohol.  So if I can go from that mindset to the one I possess today?  All bets are off… anything I consider a given is up for debate.   It’s a life-altering shift in thinking, I can tell you that!

There were two attendees who considered themselves agnostic prior to 12-step recovery.  The first who shared recognizes that her spiritual path is still in the developmental stages, as she is still fleshing out a concept of a Higher Power that works for her.  When she reads and finds references that smack of traditional Christianity-based imagery, she simply looks for the relatable part of the story, rather than reject the information because it’s not her concept of God.

The second once-Agnostic said she was anxiety-ridden when she realized that a belief in a Higher Power is a requirement.  She thought that meant she had to hurry and “catch up” to all those who had an “edge” by having religion.  Her sponsor quickly assured her by saying all those religious folks drank enough to earn a seat in the rooms, so how much of an edge did they really have?

Good point.

What made her more comfortable was the knowledge that the development of a spiritual life in an ongoing process, and the only thing you really need to get started is, well, a willingness to get started!

The rest of the attendees who shared all came into the fellowship with a belief of some sort.  Most were raised within an organized religion, but opted out once they were of an age to make decisions for themselves.  One gentleman described it this way:

I believed in belief, now I just believe

That may sound confusing, but it made a lot of sense to me.

Everyone in the room agreed that the greatest selling point of 12-step spirituality is its inclusiveness:  any concept of a Higher Power is welcome.  Secular, non-secular, completely original and unique point of view… all ideas are welcome here, and all will get you where you need to go!

Today’s Miracle:

The gentleman I wrote about last week, the newcomer who was suffering from so many physical symptoms, was back this week and looking and feeling better!

 

Posted on May 2, 2016, in Monday Meeting Miracles, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Hello Josie…good to read about your weekly meeting…I think that even though I don’t go to AA regularly, I still really look forward to hearing about your meeting, what you learn and your perspective.
    I am still not “firm” in my own religion/concept of God and I’m not sure I ever will be…I do go to church, but I also feel like there’s so much more to it than what I know, so at this phase in my life I just “listen” for wisdom and try to let in new ideas too. There really is such a wealth of grace and spirituality in the recovery world!
    Jenn

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great read for me this A.M. I am about working someone through the steps who is having trouble with the God concept. So, this is helpful for me a sort through how the program approaches it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Josie!
    I am trying to leave a comment, but it’s not working!
    Ugh!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh Yay! It did this time!
    If you haven’t read my blog lately, you can just hit my name and it will go to it!
    I am 20 months and 4 days sober!
    Yay!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello Josie, I am sorry, but my book is about to be published and as a blog contributor, “Open-Mindedness” I want to make sure you get a free copy. But I’ve lost your email!! Can you send me a message at karymayhickey@gmail.com .

    Sorry for the inconvenience, Kary

    On Mon, May 2, 2016 at 10:34 AM, themiracleisaroundthecorner wrote:

    > themiracleisaroundthecorner posted: ” Another Monday, another great > meeting! Today reading came from Chapter 4 in Alcoholics Anonymous (The Big > Book), “We Agnostics.” I’m too lazy to go back and check, but I’m fairly > confident I have never selected this reading from the book in the 3 1/2 ” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Calmness, non-doing, resilience, and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

