M(3),1/25/16: Because Sometimes Your Brain Needs a Good Washing

17e7ih75z9teyjpg

Up until about 30 minutes before the start of my meeting, I assumed a snow day was in effect.  Having just weathered a blizzard 48 hours ago, I concluded there was no way the parking lot of the building had been plowed, and I started to craft an alternate post in my head.

Which, I need to write this down now so I commit myself:  I will get back to writing that post.  I swore I’d pen more posts this year, and I’m slow to fulfilling this promise.  Yet since my WOTY is calm, I’m not going to beat myself up about it.

Here is some pictorial evidence of our the blizzard, as documented by my daughter and featuring our dog Dimple:

When I received the text that the parking lot had been plowed, I have to admit to a pang of disappointment… now I had to get out of my pajamas!  Why I would ever begrudge attending something that always makes me feel better than when I started I do not understand, but there you have it.

Today was the first entrance of the new book I have introduced into the literature rotation.  It is Forming True Partnerships:  How AA members use the program to improve relationships.  The book is a collection of articles from the AA magazine Grapevine that document how members use the principles of the 12 steps to improve all the different relationships in their lives.  There is a chapter on pets that has me question the sanity of the publishers, but I’m keeping an open mind.

Fully anticipating sitting solo, I did not plan one iota, and was pleasantly surprised to see 9 hardy souls make their way out in this weather!  Luckily, one of my favorite “regulars” has a passing acquaintance with this book and suggested a reading from the chapter on Sponsorship.

I am always happy when someone else voices an opinion on meeting subject matter, but I had a bit of apprehension on this particular subject.  While everything about the 12-step program is a suggestion, and of course there are as many ways to get sober as there are sober members, conventional wisdom strongly suggests availing yourself of a sponsor as soon as possible, and maintaining that relationship throughout your recovery.

It now occurs to me that perhaps readers may not understand what I even mean by the term sponsor.  From the AA pamphlet Questions and Answers on Sponsorship:

 An alcoholic who has made some progress in the recovery program shares that experience on a continuous, individual basis with another alcoholic who is attempting to attain or maintain sobriety through A.A.

Here’s how the process of obtaining a sponsor was explained to me:

  1. go to meetings, listen to people
  2. when you hear a woman speak (sponsor/sponsee should be same sex) who seems to “have what you want,” ask her if she would be willing to take you through the 12 steps of recovery
  3. follow her suggestions

A little vague, I know… it was for me too!  I had transitioned through a few sponsors before I found the relationship that would work in getting me through the labor of the 12 steps.  That experience, documented fully in earlier blog posts, was nothing short of transformational.

Here’s where I get apprehensive:  in the years since, I have, no better way to say it, fallen off the suggested path of the traditional sponsor/sponsee relationship.  It has been many months since my sponsor of record and I have communicated, and even before that, our communication was more on the social side and less on the business side of recovery.  A few months back I reached out to another woman, but our schedules just did not gel, and I’ve done nothing about it since.

As far at the other side of the coin, my sponsoring another, the anxiety grows:  I had two attempts at sponsoring other women, and if you judge success by actually working through the 12 steps, then each attempt was not successful.  Both of these experiences are at least two years old, and there has been no further attempts by me since.

Therefore, the thought of having to comment productively on the subject of sponsorship had me flummoxed.  I shared very little, and opened it up to the group.

Turns out, they had quite a bit to say, thankfully.  The gentleman who selected the reading believed it to be an apt description of a sponsor:  one drunk helping another drunk to stay sober by showing him/her how he/she did it.  A sponsor is not your friend or parent; he or she is not there to hold your hand or make you feel better.  A sponsor is going to show you how the same failed logic that had you drinking problematically is present in many other areas of your life.  It’s often not an enjoyable process, but it’s possibly the most rewarding experience within the 12 steps of recovery.

A second “long-timer” echoed these sentiments, and recalled fond stories of how sponsorship was done “in the old days” (for him, the 1980’s):  calling sponsees “pigeons,” setting up rules and tests for the sponsee to pass before he was eligible to sponsor others, speaking in shockingly appalling manners to get their points across.

I’m not thinking I would have done so well getting sober in the 80’s.

A woman new to my meeting raised her hand and said she did not like this topic, and did not want to talk about sponsors.  She compares her sponsor/sponsee relationship to those around her, and finds hers coming up short.  She spoke for a bit about the different ways she believe it to be true, growing agitated as she compiled her list of grievances.  As she wound down, she mentioned she had a habit of placing expectations on relationships, and speculated that perhaps this tendency was contributing to her problem.  Finally, she concluded that she might try a little harder to open up more to her sponsor, and in that self-disclosure she will develop the kind of relationship she thinks she ought to have.

Listening to this woman speak, I was reminded yet again of the value in shining a light on the dark thoughts in our heads.  In one share she identified, defined and solved a problem, all by opening her mouth.  Miraculous.

Finally, a woman shared who is normally reticent.  I think I wrote about her recently, for regular readers… she is the one who lost a friend and opened up for the first time at that meeting.  I wish I could do justice to the power of her speech.  It is so painfully clear how difficult this kind of sharing is to her that there is a magnetic quality to her words.  At least that is my experience each of the few times she’s spoken.  The part of her share that hit me right between the eyes:

A sponsor is only as helpful as the sponsee is honest

That statement brought back some painful memories.  The summer before I got sober I availed myself of a sponsor, went to meetings with her, went to her house, socialized… all while continuously relapsing and refraining from telling her.  Thankfully, she stuck with me through it all, and was around in my darkest hours of early recovery.

So I can attest to the truth of the statement above, and its more universal application:

a relationship is only as healthy as the people in it are honest

The last thing she mentioned… she has a skeptical nature, and early on she told her sponsor she felt like she was being brainwashed.

Her sponsor’s response:  that’s right, you are, because your brain needs a good washing!

Today’s Miracle:

I had a regular attendee call to tell me his driveway was blocked by 3 1/2 feet of snow, and therefore he could not attend the meeting (he is an older gentleman and could not climb it safely).  I told him no problem, and he said, “It is a problem, I have not missed your meeting since I got sober, and I’m distressed I have to miss it today.”  Heartwarming, and a little guilt-producing, since I was hoping for a snow day!

Posted on January 25, 2016, in Monday Meeting Miracles, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Does he read your blog? Perhaps he can feel like he was there that way…

    I’m not very helpful of is subject. I didn’t make much effort to find a sponsor. I found s nice lady who I had coffee with a few times, but by then I was a few months sober and felt I knew everything. And I was afraid to really open up enough to let anyone else tell me what to do.

    We have few women in our AA meetings. And many harder line men. Who clearly would have had me running the other way.

    I think about this often. I know doing things alone is never the simplest or the most proactive way. Because of this I have a good therapist, my blog and an array of sober friends online. So, I walked through the steps on my own using the women’s way through the 12 steps.

    Is this the right way? Well, I’ve got over 2 years of sobriety and my life is awesome. Plus, my husband is sober and uses AA more than me, so he is like a co sponsor. I put a lot of effort into being fully honest with him, and it has been helpful for me in moving forward with every aspect of my life, especially my mental health.

    But he is support. I am the one doing. Every day I realize that more. I am the one who make me happy. What a relief! Because I am always here.

    Anyway, I ramble. I am often envious when I see someone who seems to have a smart sponsor who helps them, but I know I am stubborn and difficult and very opinionated.

    On the other hand, I try to provide any and all support to real life and on,one people who struggle. I feel that is my service, as well as teaching yoga at the recovery centre and taking openly about my personal story.

    So, all in all, I think I benefit from the ideas of support and sharing in AA. I have just applied them a bit differently.

    Happy Monday!

    Anne

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Anne, I actually went back in and edited the part about my “sponsor arc” to include the time I recently asked someone, and I did that because of you! Remember I was going to go back through the steps and then share it with you? Then… well somewhat of a long story, but the short (and diplomatic) version is our schedules did not mesh. Bottom line: you are I are very similar right now… we are not following the recommended guidelines, and that is something we wonder/worry about, but at the same time feel very comfortable in our sobriety and therefore challenge it a bit. And I do the exact same thing with my husband. He is not in AA, but is very familiar due to Alanon, plus he is immediate… I can instantly get whatever is in my head out.

    This is how I feel about the issue: if the need is there, then the signs will point in that direction. I thought they were pointing in that direction when I asked that woman, and then the signs were NOT pointing in that direction (again, part of the larger story), so I figured I will know when the time is right. Until then, I am enjoying the peace and gratitude my sobriety gives me!

    Until that time, we have each other, and all the other amazing bloggers!

    Like

  3. Cute dog!!
    Guess what?
    I signed up to lead my meeting in February. But we do it different here. We pick a topic from “As Bill Sees It”.
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wendy, I put up the pictures of Dimple JUST FOR YOU 🙂 Seriously, I asked my daughter to take pictures in the snow with the dog, thinking of your earlier comment that you want to see more dog posts! She really is the cutest thing.

      On to way more important matters… Wendy, that will be the best news I receive all day… chairing a meeting, and for a month, that’s just fantastic! We do have As Bill Sees It meetings around here, though they are much less common than Big Book meetings or 12 & 12 meetings. You are going to get a lot out of it, I can’t wait to hear how it goes 🙂

      Like

  4. One area of the whole AA thing that bothers me a bit is the sponsorship thing. I help people and sometimes mentor them in a more formal way but firstly I hate the name and I see it sometimes become either a big ego thing for the sponsor or way too controlling. Once I heard someone speak about how they asked their sponsor for guidance about moving job, getting a loan, going on a date…. I said to them privately later – “Your sponsor is either the greatest living human being with so much incredible knowledge or you are being controlled by a human being not the booze any more.” He was angry and indignant with me – fair enough. About 9 months later we were at a meeting together again. He came up to me and just shook my hand and said “You won’t know just how valuable the last piece of advice you gave me was. Took me a while to realise I was living someone else’s recovery not mine. Thanks”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, that is a timely story, and gives me a feeling of great relief. Knowing someone with more time than me express this concern, and is still a member of our Fellowship… you have given me a great gift this morning. Thank you so much… ?

      I might as well ask the question I have been dying to ask: I want to reply to your comments personally, but sometimes I see other bloggers use (what I presume to be) your given name, and sometimes I see your pen name. Which do you prefer?

      Or you can remain mysterious and keep me wondering 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I “outed” myself some years back. For the first few years in the blogging community I was Furtheron (it refers to my first blog Further On Up The Road) but when music became increasingly important to me on there it came out that I was Graham Hunt guitarist, (singer) and songwriter. So … either does. I know I break the AA guidance on anonymity online for which I’m sorry but rather than blow all my old life away etc. I stick with it. I mean Eric Clapton is a known member of AA as he’s written about it in his autobiography as have many other celebs so it’s a conundrum I’m not the only one wrestling with.
        Re Sponsorship – it is never mentioned once in the original 167 pages of the AA big book. There is no requirement about sponsorship for you to attempt the recovery programme of AA – somehow too many AA members seem to forget tradition 3 “The ONLY requirement for membership is a desire to stop drinking”.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh, Graham Hunt, guitarist… I love it! Thanks Graham, I feel better addressing you personally, and your insight into sobriety and the Fellowship is something I take to heart!

        Liked by 1 person

      • If you click somewhere on the right of either of my blogs you’ll find some of my guitar/songwriting whimbling that I’d overcome my issues about perfectionism enough to expose on the web

        Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

