M(3), 8/31/15: Searching for the Willingness

For the record, I am sitting and typing this blog with the quiet hum of an air conditioner as my only background noise.  I actually forgot the air conditioner made a noise, since it’s been drowned out by endless re-runs of Malcolm in the Middle and various Xbox games.  Oh and the occasional sibling argument!  Back to school = Golden Silence.

Today’s meeting centered around Step 8 in the 12 steps of recovery:

Made a list of all persons we had harmed, and became willing to make amends to them all.

I had a few people groan aloud when they realized we would be reading and discussing step 8… August, the eighth month in the year, is a popular time to discuss this step, and it is the last day of the month.  Therefore, regular meeting attendees have had their fill of this topic.

Note to self:  it might be time to switch up my literature rotation.

Despite the moans and groans, the meeting was an interesting one, in that the conversational focus was on a different part of the step than usual.  Typically a Step 8 meeting focuses on the question, “Who exactly should make the list?”  This conversation then winds around to what exactly do we mean we say “Harm?”  And then, inevitably, the shares will turn into stories of the following step, which is the actual making of amends.

Today, however, the focus was on the second part of the step, the part where we actually become willing to make the amends.  Because you can know you’ve harmed a person, but you can also not want to right that wrong for a whole bunch of reasons.  Some people think, “why bother?  that person is out of my life?”  Some are unwilling due to pride or ego:  “No way am I making amends after all that person’s done to me!”  The list of why not’s could go on for awhile.

But it’s important to realize, for those deciding to use the 12-step program to recover:  you are not ready to tackle the often challenging step 9 of making amends until you have finished the entire of step 8.

And how best to become willing?  Pray for the willingness, meditate, whatever you do to calm and center yourself, do so specifically around this issue.

A second theme of today’s discussion:  why it’s important to do such a thing in the first place.  Who the heck wants to sit around and think about all the people you’ve ever hurt in your life?  Knowing all the while that the list is then going to turn into an even worse job… going around and making amends to these people?

The why is simple:  to untangle the relationships that you’ve complicated with your addiction.  Even in the case of the person not realizing it, the point is if they’re making your list then you realize it.  Of course, there are always exceptions to the rule of making amends, and those exceptions are covered in the following step, but overall the reason to create a list is to clean up your side of the street.  It has more to do with you than it does with the person harmed.

The last point of discussion was another interesting one:  there is something to do while you’re waiting to become willing to make amends.  And it’s a simple one, and in most cases goes a long way towards the amends process:

Stop doing the behavior

If your habit was to drink too much and then… fill in the blank:  stay out too late, drunk dial/text, pick fights, become a crying drunk, fail to tuck in your kids, ad infinitum.  Stop doing it!  Come home on time, call and text positively, be there for your friends and family, spend extra time with your kids.

By the time you are actually ready to tackle the amends process with the list you’ve made, I would bet the vast majority will say that your amends will be to keep doing what you’ve been doing since you got sober.

There will be more to discuss on the topic of amends in a couple of weeks when we read step 9.  Until then, any 12-step readers with insights to share on step 8, I’d love to hear it!

Today’s Miracle:

I am proud to say that I’ve written an article for the website addiction.com.  Check it out if you are interested in a little more of my backstory than I usually write about here!

Posted on August 31, 2015, in Monday Meeting Miracles, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Wonderful article, Josie. Loved it. Funny about hearing the A/C again. Enjoy the quiet!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Untipsyteacher

    So glad you are sober and rocking it!
    Thank you for sharing your story.
    Become willing is really the key to many things in sobriety,
    One must be fearless, which IS scary!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Josie, You and I have been bumping elbows around the blogosphere for quite a few years. I follow your blog on my email. I am currently writing a guide to online support communities which will include the blogging community. I am not a member of AA, I found my way to sobriety solely through the online community, but my guide is an unbiased catalog of the different avenues of support to be found on the web. Although I don’t have room for all of my favorite blogs out there, I would like to include one or two blogs written by member of AA. Would you be interested? What I would like to include is a brief description from you about how blogging has aided you in your sobriety and how it has complemented your AA program, and one of your blogs that you think would most appeal to someone searching for support. The only rule for any contribution is that it cannot be derogatory or insulting to other programs or blogs.

    Please let me know if you’re interested in contributing. You can contact me at karymayhickey@gmail.com.

    Kary

    On Mon, Aug 31, 2015 at 10:59 AM, themiracleisaroundthecorner wrote:

    > themiracleisaroundthecorner posted: ” For the record, I am sitting and > typing this blog with the quiet hum of an air conditioner as my only > background noise. I actually forgot the air conditioner made a noise, > since it’s been drowned out by endless re-runs of Malcolm in the Middle and > va”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds interesting, I will touch base with you to find out more!

    Like

  5. Perfect. I look forward to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 1) Will jump over to addiction.com and check you out.
    2) My take on Step 8: We unintentionally leave out our self in Step * because we don’t want to be “selfish or arrogant.” But in my opinion the person we have harmed the most (and continue to harm) is self. Inquiry into all the ways we continue to not-love our self fully is some of the best Step 8 work we can do. Don’t get me wrong, I am not downplaying the list of people we have harmed, just suggesting we look at how we treat self.
    3) Your Monday meeting is now my Monday meeting.
    4) xox

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Lisa, I appreciate the support! And such an important part of step 8, one that could fill an entire blog post for sure. I still find myself working on that self-inquiry, and am amazed with what I discover.
      Finally, can I count on you for some baked goods for our meeting 😉
      Love, love, LOVE hearing from you, Lisa!

      Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

MessyJessy

The emotional messy stuff...

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

