M(3), 2/23/15: The Journey of Open-Mindedness

 

This might have been the first time since I started my Monday meeting 2 1/2 years ago where I really, really did not want to go.  This time of year in my part of the world can be tough… attendance is spotty at best, due to weather, and, speaking for myself, there is a general malaise that sets in by this point of the season.  Plus this week’s literature selection is “chairperson’s choice.” Since I am the only chairperson, I am cursing myself for throwing this into the rotation, because I don’t feel like doing the work in terms of researching a good reading selection.  Remembering that a regular attendee was singing the praises of a book a few weeks prior, I decided to go the easy route and just use that book.

The book is called Came to Believe, and it is a collection of short essays written by members of the 12-step fellowship about what the term “spiritual awakening” means to them.  I believe I have read from this book once or twice before, but don’t recall it resounding with me.  But on this frigid morning, feeling as lackluster as can be, I figured I will give it another shot, and if nothing else will make at least one meeting attendee happy.

Turns out, it made the entire 14 attendees happy, and I will include myself on that list!  Just seeing all those seats filled lifted my spirits… we haven’t been that crowded in a long time.  Plus, I got to catch up with a bunch of people I haven’s seen in a while.  Plus plus, we had a newcomer attending because she heard what a good meeting this was.  Heart-warming and rejuvenating, and I hadn’t even gotten to the actual meeting yet!

We were able to read two of the essays in the book.  The general theme of each was the process by which one goes from having no belief in any kind of Higher Power to embracing a spiritual way of life.  Neither writer had a dramatic, “burning bush” sort of moment; rather, the process involved a lot of “acting as if,” and realizing almost after the fact that faith had taken root in their lives.

Almost everyone who shared could relate to the idea of finding spirituality in a gradual way.  One gentleman said he could not, at first, comprehend the idea of a Higher Power, so he had to take a practical approach to the 12-step program:  attend meetings, take suggestions from others, listen with an open mind.  In taking these small, practical steps, slowly but surely he came to see that the promises made by the program were coming true from him.  The longer he stayed committed, the more his concept of and relationship with a Higher Power developed.

Another friend gave an analogy about faith:  in much the same way that currency in and of itself has no value, the same can be said for faith.  It’s not enough to simply be in possession of faith; as the saying goes, faith without works is dead.  But if we develop our faith, and take action based upon that faith, now we have a currency of value in our lives.

Yet another regular attendee of the meeting built upon that thought process, and shared that his initial struggle wasn’t believing in God, but rather in doing the work necessary to develop that relationship.  Step 3 in the 12-step programs tells us to turn things over to a Higher Power, but for this gentleman the catch was to do the proper work, and turn the results over to a Higher Power.  For him the answer in figuring out this puzzle lies in the Serenity Prayer:  asking for the serenity to accept unchangeable things, the courage to change what needs changing, and the wisdom to know the difference.

For me, both stories struck a chord, in that they reminded me of the earliest days of sobriety, and they illuminated some trouble I am experiencing currently.  The idea of doing something in spite of disbelief reminded me of the earliest days of sobriety, and praying to God to keep me sober another day.  As I’m praying I’m thinking, “Hypocrite!  How is this prayer any different from a week ago when you prayed and didn’t stay sober?”  And that same disbelief held true for meeting attendance, and bunch of other things that hadn’t worked in the past.  But pushing past that skepticism and giving every suggestion an honest, open-minded (or as open-minded as I could be, anyway) try  allowed me to experience for myself the miracles that the 12-step fellowship offers.

In a similar way, I am embarking on a new stage of self-discovery, in that I am participating in therapy, a subject I’m sure I will write about in more detail in the weeks and months to come.  It occurred to me this morning as I read the selections that my feelings about therapy mirror the feelings I had about the benefits of 12-step meetings and praying in early sobriety:  I strongly doubt there is any benefit to be had from speaking to a stranger about my life.

And yes, I have shared these feelings with the therapist.  And no, she has not kicked me out of the office (but it’s early days yet).

And now I realize that I must continue the process with a great deal more open-mindedness.  After all, if I had listened to my best thinking in active addiction, I’d shudder to think where I’d be, certainly not here typing this blog post.  So I will do my best to lean in, and see what comes out of it!

Today’s Miracle:

An attendance of 14 people during Frigid February!

Posted on February 23, 2015, in Monday Meeting Miracles, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I think that if you ask 100 people in the program about their coming to believe, you will probably get 100 different responses. Even amongst us who came in with an inherent belief of God, the ways of getting (re)connected to Him are probably a bit different. We all have our way of coming to Him, and it’s great to hear them, a great reminder that there is no one single path. The BB talks about the path being roomy and with lots of space. And that’s the beauty of the program, and a demonstration that this is indeed not a religious program but a spiritual one. One need not believe in God as others see Him.

    Glad you got the turnout on such a cold day!

    P.S Is there an alternate chairperson, just in case you can’t make it? Just occured to me as I was reading this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment, Paul, and what is so great about the fact that there are 100 different ways is that it frees up those who might otherwise be turned away by a more dogmatic approach. Ya gotta love it!

      There is no official alternate chairperson, but there are a number of regular attendees who I can call if need be. Can I put you on the list 😉

      Like

  2. Love this post. 🙂 I have found that my open-mindedness and spirituality continue to grow as I progress on this journey. Can we just say good-bye to February already?!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know you know how much I can relate to this. I’m still not sure about my therapy in spite of the progress I’ve made. I can be a very stubborn child at times.

    Good luck and…ahem…keep an open mind!

    Sherry

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Where I live, it was below 0 again yesterday. At least I see sun today!
    Having an open-mind is so important.
    Even when I face criticism, sometimes I see there is a grain of truth in what the person said!
    I love AA, blogging, and therapy!
    I love learning!
    Hugs,
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ughhh! Winter be gone! It is so great that you can face criticism in that way, I still need to work on that one 🙂

      And hopefully I will soon say I love all 3 as well (for now I’m definitely with you on the first two!)

      Thanks for the comment, Wendy!

      Like

  5. Not all progress is linear. I feel even in those times we seem to spin wheels or go nowhere or get hung up on a concept or aspect of our journey, we’re still making progress. We’re still moving toward a better self, even if we drift from the target.

    The key is that desire to stay in the journey, and you’ve demonstrated that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eli, you have no idea how much this comment resounds with me. As I embark on another healthy eating lifestyle challenge, the progress not being linear speaks volumes. Actually thought about you the other night as I was eating the Gorton’s 200 calorie fish filets the other night 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

