M(3), 6/2: Kickin’ Recovery Old School, Part 2

Happy Monday to all.  My meeting was well-attended and chock full of great stuff, as always!

Today we resumed reading from the book we started last month  entitled Back to Basics.  This book chronicles the process by which fledgling AA members completed the 12 steps of recovery back in 1946.  The process is much, much quicker than is typically done today, and it is also quite intense.  Today’s reading covered Step Two.  The consensus of the group this morning was that the content of the book is informative, well thought out, and comprehensive.  On the other hand, we all agreed that we cannot imagine coming into AA for the first time and being asked to stand up in front of a group of strangers and pledge things the way they did back then… it would have been overwhelming!

So the reality of this meeting was a discussion of Step Two:

Came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity

Step two is a step that can throw people off right at the start.  Many come into 12-step groups because they know they have a problem with alcohol (step one), but do not believe they can accept the idea of a Higher Power.  The reading we reviewed today does a great job explaining to newcomers how to get around this disbelief.  First, we are told straight off that all you need is a willingness to believe.  Then, the kicker:  you can choose a God of your understanding.  That is a broad category with which to work, and allows for a variety of interpretation.

The greatest take-away I got from today’s meeting:  a gentleman shared that while this step seems somewhat lofty and abstract, it is, in fact quite practical, and, for him, the foundation upon which his decades of sobriety rest.  His description of the meaning of Step Two for his sobriety made me consider my own journey to my relationship with my Higher Power, whom I choose to call God.  I had no problem believing in God, but I did not understand how that belief was going to keep me sober.  After all, I believed in God all my life, so why now was this belief suddenly going to stop my active addiction?

I’m not sure I ever really answered that question.  Then again, I’ve stopped wondering if there is an answer!  When I was given the gift of desperation, where I did not believe I had anywhere else to turn, my prayers changed in intensity, and in sincerity.  I wasn’t just praying because someone told me to, I was praying because I needed help.  And not help to get out of a jam, but an honest-to-goodness-I’m-at-a-crossroads type of help.

That is the moment from which my spiritual life was born, has grown, and will hopefully continue to grow for the rest of my life.  Now, I don’t worry about a definition or a description of God.  I have, as they say, “taken God out of the box.”  Once I learned to have faith in God’s power, the signs of His existence have popped up everywhere.

And what do I do to hold up my end of this bargain?  I try, as best I can, to align my will with His.  Again, sounds lofty, but is very practical.  Pray for guidance, open my eyes, and do what’s in front of me to the best of my ability.   Repeat as often as needed, particularly in times of stress and doubt!

Today’s Miracle:

wpid-20140601_161059.jpg

Second 5K completed with my friend Kristen over at ByeByeBeer, and knocked seven minutes off my time from our last one!  So great to mix the blogging world with my real life!

Posted on June 2, 2014, in Monday Meeting Miracles, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Congratulations, that is awesome. 😉

    Like

  2. Yay! You and Kristen look great!

    Like

  3. I’m really glad you told me about that race and that we were all able to make it. I had a lot of fun, as did the kids. I’m also really glad you saw progress with your time. Seven minutes is huge!! I think the course seemed more challenging because of the crowd and maybe a bit hillier too. I hope you don’t mind, but I may copy the picture and post on my blog later this week. I like what you wrote about Step 2 because that was definitely a tough one early on. I wasn’t ready in the beginning to get it, but I felt like I should. It all came together nicely without much more than I guess what was willingness. Now I can look back and say it saved me more than anything else, but I still can’t define it. And that is fine.

    Like

  4. Lovely stuff, post. I too think that all the steps are practical in some way, shape or form. Although one can take the first eight steps on the couch, so to speak, the trickle down effect is through actions.

    And I love that pic (groovy hair, young lady!) with you and Kristen and congrats on the seven minute difference – that’s huge!

    Paul

    Like

  5. Well done Josie! I am so impressed and so proud. I remember when you first started running and found it a challenge. I really noticed how happy you look post run! Keep it up!

    Like

    • Thea, I laughed out loud when I read this… we took this picture a solid hour BEFORE the race, that’s why we look so happy! And yes, the idea of completing this race given the way I viewed myself at the start of all this (about a year ago, almost exactly).. it’s an absolute miracle!

      So great to hear from you!

      Like

  6. Oh, you ladies look great! Congrats on the race and the improved time, I am mot a runner, but that sure sounds like a big improvement! Hugs.

    Like

    • Maggie, I really don’t consider myself a runner either, but I am definitely proud of my improvements over the past year, so thank you. It’s all about progress, and not perfection, as you and I both know so well 🙂

      Thanks for the comment, I need to get over to your blog, I read the latest, and laughed out loud thinking of some of my interactions with my kids, but I will get over there and comment officially!

      Like

  7. Love this photo of you two. Can I run with you ???? I’m getting enough friends on the east coast that I might be able to stay hotel free!!! Very, very proud of you.

    The post: For me, the idea that the Universe is a loving one is the most important part of my program. If I don’t believe in Love winning then what is the point of it all? For me Josie, you make the steps sing. I love this in your writing. Today and always.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

