Symptom Checker

 

Did you ever go on the WebMD site to research a condition?  I would doubt that I would be able to find my particular ailment easily, but if I could, it would look something like this:

 

Symptoms, Early Stage:

  • Initial success with accomplishment of a goal leads to an increased momentum of goal setting (as in, now that I’ve stopped smoking and have lost a few pounds, let’s keep the health train going and start an official diet by counting points, buy a fitbit and count steps, train for a 5K and log miles, and of course there’s always the scale)
  • Distracted thought processes (wait, which goal should I be working on right now… oh wait, I have children who need their dinner!)

Symptoms, Middle Stage:

  • Irritability (leave me alone, can’t you see I’m trying to calculate all I’ve eaten today/steps I’ve taken today/average minutes per mile today?)
  • Confusion (what exactly am I supposed to be doing right now?)

Symptoms, Advanced Stage:

  • Deal making (if I get on the scale and the number is the same or less than yesterday, then I am doing well and should continue, if not, then I will… give up/throw the scale out the window/throw myself out the window)
  • Negative self-talk reaches new heights (no matter what good is achieved on a given day, the negative voice can combat with all the goals that were not achieved)

Diagnosis #1:

  • You are certifiable, go out and get fitted with a straitjacket

Diagnosis #2 (because life actually does have to move on):

  • You are suffering from a condition called “Overshooting The Goal-Setting Mark.”  Fortunately, this condition can be arrested and corrected with a few simple steps.

Treatment and Care:

  • Acknowledgment of condition.  Say to yourself, “you are heading in too many directions, and as a result, you are getting nowhere fast”
  • Next, take some deep breaths, and remember all for which you are grateful (this step, by the way, helps with a lot of mental conditions)
  • Once in a calm state, take quiet time, pick one goal, and Let.  The.  Rest.  Go.
  • Give voice to the confusion and negativity in your head with a trusted friend (or the entire blogging world, or both)
  • Repeat these steps each time the condition flares up

Today’s Miracle:

Today is a day of rest… no accounting of anything today, and I am going to enjoy it!

Posted on May 15, 2014, in Self-Care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Ha ha…love this, Josie! Love the format here – funny and yet insightful. I can so relate and am actually very grateful to read this this morning. I too am trying to hit too many goals in a haphazard way, and feeling a bit overwhelmed! For example, in my running, I am trying to do too many things – I changed shoes, am changing my form, changing cadence, trying too many training programs and also demanding my weight go down! No wonder I have a bit of a calf / ankle injury! But that’s okay. I am going to do what you suggest – breath. Slow things down. Talk to others (there is a guy at work who I recently hired, and he is a runner with a capital “R”, so I run things past him).

    Love this. congrats and continued luck (or whatever you want to call it – work, grace, etc 🙂 ) with your goals. I know you can do it 🙂

    Paul

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can really relate to this. I’m not just quitting alcohol, I’m losing weight, getting fit, reading more, being less grumpy with my kids, deciding what I am going to do with the rest of my life and finding a rewarding job. Or at least, that was my plan. Am doing OK with the first one, that’s all. I need to take note of your treatment and care 🙂 Thanks for the post! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness, I took a break from replying to these comments to take a read on your blog, and I’m still laughing! Such a great post on boxed wine, I can’t wait to read more!

      And, of course, I thank you for this comment. Sometimes (like this post) I will think to myself, “Yep, this is the one where you’re going to hear crickets, because no one thinks as nonsensically as you do!” And each time, I am heartened to find there are others like me!

      Like

  3. THANK YOU for posting this… I go to WebMD for every ache & pain, lol. Thi sis so me, I get so many goals, my Type A personality I dive into so many goals at once and then a mnth later i am no where and dissapointed. Even my BF said when I first started AA and sobriety, I will try to do it all and then I will get burned out. (I never knew how much he really knows/gets me, quite scary) So that is why I am just focusing on my sobriety. If I sleep more and don’t exercise that is ok. If I eat sugar to not drink wine fine. If I have to buy another bigger pair of pants, that is ok. Once I get a good grip on my sobriety, I can start focusing on more exercise, less calories etc. If I try to do it all at once, I will fail. I don’t want to give up my sobriety no matter what. Enjoy your day of rest! XOXO

    Like

    • MB, I am so, so so glad you commented, and I hope everyone reading scrolls down to read what you wrote, it is truly the best part. Because, no matter how far off the rails I go in terms of diet and exercise, I do know, as long as I’m sober it will be okay.

      Thank you, again, for the critical post script to this post!

      Like

  4. This is great! Before I quit drinking, I spent way too much time on WedMD looking up my ailments hoping to figure out what disease I had for I was sure I was dying.
    Hmm.. Fast forward to present day and I no longer have any physical ailments to speak of.Take care of you and the rest will be okay. Great format for talking about your feelings.
    Hugs,
    Linda

    Like

  5. Yeah, I can relate a lot too. Though I know it would be best to weigh myself only once a week (on Thursdays because that has historically been the lightest day of the week for me, go figure), I do almost every day of the week. I make bargains with myself before I step on the scale. I know it’s not healthy and I know I need to cut it out. Changing eating habits has been much harder than exercising regularly, but I see the latter as progress. I’ve definitely stepped back from setting too many goals, simply because I fail at most of them. Welcome to the world of the underachiever. Also, I too really liked the format and humor and thoughtfulness behind this post. Great stuff, J.

    Like

    • Kristen, I forgot to tell you this. You told me before that Thursday is your best weigh-in day, and guess what day I selected?!? I’m not sure what logic has me assuming that your lowest-number-weigh-in day will be mine, but, for better or for worse, the “official” weekly weight is Thursday, and that is thanks to you!

      Now, having said that, I need a 12-step program for eliminating the scale, seriously. I tried and failed again this morning not to get on it.

      I take comfort in knowing that I am not alone, so I do appreciate your comments, as always!

      Like

      • This week I waited until this morning to weigh in. It was your reply that prompted this, and yesterday I almost caved. It’s such a ridiculous thing though, not being able to wait and torturing myself so. So I weighed in this morning and it was fine, good, about where I hoped to be but was sure I wouldn’t be. I don’t want to be a slave to the damn thing. Once a week is plenty, so going to keep at this for next week, one day a time of course.

        Like

      • Oh, Kristen, you don’t know how bad I needed to see someone making progress on an issue this morning, thank you so much for the follow-up, and great job. Hopefully you will inspire me to progress a little myself!

        Like

  6. Love this, Josie! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve used WebMD and determined that I had some horrible ailment, only to feel fine the next day!
    I’m also at a point in my recovery where I feel like there are other things I need to work on, like breaking my addiction to sugar, taking off some weight, and getting more exercise…it’s not easy. And I keep thinking to myself, I quit drinking for crying out loud, why can’t I stop eating chocolate?? Ugh. Work in progress, I guess.
    Great post!
    ~Jami

    Like

  7. Josie, Josie, Josie … You are killing me with this. All of us friends here on the blogoshere are such a bunch of maniacs, always trying to achieve, achieve, achieve. Damn. I am the most guilty of all. (I do this with others as an occupation.)

    I love your miracle today. This is an excellent post for my Sunday. I decided I was going to post one week and then spend the next week reading (newest set of goals). So as soon as I finish paling around with my blog friends I’m going to ditch the goals for today and have fun with my family.

    I love you so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

