Maternal Wisdom

mother's day

Here’s a fun poll for Mother’s Day weekend:  what’s the best advice your Mom ever gave you?  Here are some of the words of wisdom to which I adhere to this very day:

  • You must have a good knife in your kitchen
  • Baggy clothing does not cover up imperfections, it just makes you look bigger
  • Keeping a schedule keeps you sane
  • And, last but not least, if anyone spills anything, you must say in your weariest, most put-upon voice, “JESUS, MARY AND JOSEPH, GET THE PAPER TOWELS” (my kids thank Mom Mom for that as well!)

Alright, what’s everyone gotten from their Mom’s?  Words of wisdom, life lessons, or just hilarious stories, I want to hear them!  And for all my beautiful maternal friends, enjoy the weekend, you deserve it!

Today’s Miracle:

Mothers definitely count as a miracle; I don’t know what I’d do without mine!

Posted on May 9, 2014, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Happy Mother’s Day Mama! Here are some gems from my mom:

    *Always wear clean underwear. You never know when you’ll be in a car accident
    *No matter how bad your day was, put on some make up, fix your hair and look nice for your husband
    *You can be anything you want to be.

    And the words I’ll treasure most: “You’re such a good mom”

    Great post, Josie!

    Like

  2. I’m blessed to have a mom and a stepmom but I can’t think of any great advice they’ve given. My grandma, on the other hand, told me, “Marry a rich man. You can always learn to love him later.” It’s advice neither of us took but it always made me laugh! Happy Mother’s day!

    Like

  3. This is a great post! My mom always said, “Friends will come and go, but your family will always be there for you.” She has been right my whole life on this one.
    And my favorite is “Do the best that you can do, try your very hardest and no matter what, the only one to whom this will matter is you. Don’t disappoint yourself.” Sadly, I have disappointed myself over the years, but IF I had worried less about who would have worried and more about serving my true self, this would not have been the case.

    Happy Mother’s Day!
    Hugs,
    Linda

    Like

    • Linda, please thank your Mom for me. I have a lump in my throat over both of these, and they are both so true. I am going to remember number two when I go out to exercise this morning!!!!

      This is great stuff, and happy Mother’s Day to you too!

      Like

  4. I am sure my mothere said some great words of advice, but I can’t think of any of them.

    Anyway, Happy Mother’s Day weekend and Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out here!!

    Paul

    Like

  5. What you want at 18 isn’t necessarily what you’ll want at 30.

    Boy was she right on that one!

    Like

  6. Always keep your fingernails clean. Women notice dirty nails and it’s a huge turn-off.
    Also, carry a laundered handkerchief–to hand her when you make her cry.
    That’s about it. In terms of useful advice.
    Plenty of the other kind though.
    Lots.
    Okay, hoping nobody has to hand you a clean hankie today, fair lady.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

