The Twelve Steps in Everyday Living: Part Twelve

Step Twelve:  Having had a spiritual awakening as a result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to other alcoholics, and to practice these principles in all our affairs

I can’t believe I’m at the end of this series of posts.  Clichés do exist for a reason:  time really does fly!  It feels like yesterday that I published step one.  But anyway…

Step 12, as I understand it, has a few sub-steps within it.  First, it supposes that by the time you have gotten to this step, you’ve had a spiritual awakening.  Now, I have only been around for a short time, but I have encountered many people, and I have never heard of anyone deny that this is true.  When I first heard the term “spiritual awakening,” I pictured something like being hypnotized, or drinking the Jonestown Kool-Aid… basically, becoming a completely different, more ethereal person.  Now, this may happen for some people, but it certainly did not for me.  I am the same sarcastic, wise-cracking, wife, mother, sister, and daughter that I was before I completed the 12 steps.  There was no lightning bolt, or burning bush, but by the time I had reached step 12, I could honestly say that I had a much deeper relationship with my Higher Power, that my obsession to drink and drug had been lifted, and that I believed God is doing for me what I could not do on my own.

The next sub-step:  carry the message.  Certainly, from a recovery standpoint, the meaning of this portion of the step is self-evident.  As a member of Alcoholics Anonymous, it is my duty and my privilege to teach someone newer than myself what I have learned in the program of recovery.  If someone is struggling, it is my responsibility to reach out a hand and help them, the same way people reached out their hand to me.  I can say that helping others bolsters my own sobriety, possibly even more than the people I am helping.  It keeps me committed, it keeps me honest, and it keeps me connected.

The final sub-step:  apply the same principles within these steps to all aspects of our lives.  Basically, the whole point of me writing this series of blog posts is an extension of this part of step 12; to show that what I have learned through the 12 steps of Alcoholics Anonymous really teaches me how to live all aspects of my life.  It helps me when faced with indecision, it helps me to parent more effectively, to communicate more honestly, and to keep my focus on the things I can control, rather than railing against what I cannot.

The point of this step in everyday living is the basic stuff we learned in kindergarten:

1. Share everything.
2. Play fair.
3. Put things back where you found them.
4. CLEAN UP YOUR OWN MESS.
5. Don’t take things that aren’t yours.
6. Say you’re SORRY when you HURT somebody.
7. Live a balanced life – learn some and drink some and draw some and paint some and sing and dance and play and work everyday some.

-adapted from Robert FulghumAll I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten

 These lessons turn into well-known proverbs as we get older:  do unto others, live and let live, but it all boils down to the same thing:  live the best life you can, do the next right thing, and always be available to help another human being.  And, just like recovery, helping someone is a reward in and of itself, and living right is its own reward!

 

Posted on June 28, 2013, in Twelve Steps in Everyday Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I have learned so much from this series of blogs. You have explained so clearly how the 12 steps can be applied to every day life. This final one is amazing. I am so proud of you and how far you have come. You are truly my shing star.

    Like

  2. Oh Josie…what an awesome series you put together here. You have a lot of insight into these steps and you can see that you work(ed) them and the proof is in the pudding. You have a certain energy and zip and serenity that comes from doing the work. Are we “done”? Not at all, of course! But we have something that we never had before – a centered sense of self and a connection to a HP that is loving and we do His will. We don’t get that from sitting on our duff only.

    You certainly have been doing 12 step work with your posts and this series…your sponsoring, your starting and running your meeting, helping others, etc. Inspiring.

    I love this post, and the kindergarten stuff. Awesome.
    I can guarantee that you have changed someone’s life, or at least sparked something in someone through your words and actions.

    Blessings,
    Paul

    Like

    • As I reply to this early Saturday morning, before my first cup of coffee, I do not particularly feel that zip, but I truly appreciate the kind words!

      I never thought about this series being actual 12-step work, that is a very cool notion, and it warms my heart that you wrote it.

      You started my day with a smile, Paul!

      Like

  3. *This Josie is just Breathless, I’d love with your permission to reblogg this post on my blog, and help get more people to see YOU!! Just say the word!?? Your full of recovery *Wisdom* my new friend 🙂 🙂 Catherine

    Like

  4. Congratulations on a successful series, Josie!

    Like

  5. Great series, Josie! i’m wrapping up Steps 11 and 12 with my Sponsor (though i think i need to find some more Sytep 11 stuff online because he kin of blew past this one and i feel i need it more than he realizes), and i’ll share any Step 12experiences i may have when i have them.

    Thanks for such an inspiring series!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Wants vs Needs | Sally's Serenity Spot

  2. Pingback: *My 4th of July Recovery Spotlight*~~Meet Stephen & Josie* | *Recovery Blog~Author Catherine Lyon*

  3. Pingback: Balancing off days with duties of everyday life | Shelton's Office

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

