T.M.I. (Too Much Information)!

Another danger zone could be added to this diagram:  the bus stop itself, after the children have driven away!

 

This morning I was at the stay at home/work at home parent’s version of the water cooler:  the bus stop.  The lengthy discussion that resulted was an eye-opener, at least it was for this home-owning ignoramus:  stucco.  Here are a few snippets that I learned at this morning’s rendezvous:

  • Stucco should really only be used in homes in the Southwestern region of the United States (we live in a suburb of Philadelphia, too bad someone did not give this news to our builder)
  • Stucco costs three times as much as siding to remediate or replace.
  • The chance for mold and other moisture problems increases dramatically when your house is constructed with stucco (as opposed to siding).
  • There is no chance of recouping any losses from the builder, the company will simply drag it out in court and you will wind up losing even more money, and still have the same problem as you did to start.

Really, by the end of this conversation, my thought process was this:  it would be less stressful, and more time-saving, to simply drive my son to school!

Thank you God, for the 12-step program, because I could listen to this diatribe, and my first thought… alright, full disclosure:  my real first thought is that 25 minutes in the early morning chill is entirely too long to be talking about stucco… so my second thought is gratitude that we are not experiencing any of the problems that are being described, followed by genuine sympathy at the plight of those around me.  Suffice it to say that is not how I would have handled that conversation, pre-Fellowship!

Today’s Miracle:

In coming home and inspecting my house, I do not have any of the tell-tale “tea stains” (another fun term I learned this morning) around my windows!

 

Posted on April 17, 2013, in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I live in a philly suburb too…no stucco either, fortunately I’m now realizing. I still find it natural to absorb and take on others’ stress. I needed to read this post.

    Funny what recovery teaches us about interacting with others. I am extremely grateful when I feel gratitude and sympathy towards others (beyond family and friends). Is it overboard to feel gratitude for feeling gratitude? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

