Get Up, Stand Up: Stand Up For Your Rights!

A man without decision can never be said to belong to himself. -John Watson Foster

a

Yesterday was the Philadelphia’s Fighting for Air Climb, an event where individuals and teams race up 1,088 steps as quickly as they can.  Since 2010, my husband has participated with a team in this “vertical race” in an effort to raise money for the American Lung Association.  For the past 2 years, my children have joined his team, and climbed fast enough to received trophies.    Very cool experience, and very rewarding for all involved, including spectators such as myself.  The picture above is this year’s team, which is the largest ever in the climb’s history, nation-wide.  Great job, Team Stab!

This year’s event  has taught me a valuable lesson in decision-making, and, more importantly, in standing up for my decisions.  I can’t remember what, if any, pressure was placed upon me to participate in this event prior to this year, and since I can’t remember, I’m guessing, not a lot.  This year, however, I had received entreaties from several different participants:  2013 is the year I should join this worthy cause.

Here’s how the decision-making process went for me:

  1. ABSOLUTELY, POSITIVELY, NO (EXPLETIVE OMITTED) WAY
  2. Alright, you should at least consider it… then, repeat #1
  3. As various people would attempt to talk me into it… well, maybe…
  4. But I really, really don’t want to do this, so no way
  5. But, maybe this is one of those things I should be pushing myself to do, and think of all the benefits…

… and so on.  I went back and forth with this process for days on end.  I shared about it at meetings, and with people close to me, but at the end of the day I realized only one person could make this decision, and that was me.  So I took some time, sat down, and did my best to quiet my mind, and see what God thought about this quandary.  I kid you not, within minutes I was able to focus, not on what other people thought was good for me, or how I would be making this one or that one proud of me, but how I would feel about actually doing it.  Long story short, I felt calm and confident that this was not an event in which I would enjoy participating, and any other choice I would be making for someone else.

So that is that, right?  I waited a few days (this was over a month ago, I had to make the decision early because I would have needed to train for it), then shared the decision with my husband.  His immediate reply:  please reconsider.  I gave my reasons why I did not wish to participate, and he argued against most of them, but finally conceded that it was my decision to make.  Good enough.

Same conversation, different person, several more times before the event.  And each time, I am fighting getting annoyed.  Finally, the event day comes, and everyone does really well, and it was awesome (as always) to be a spectator, they have cameras set up as everyone passes the “finish line,” or reaches the 50th floor, so I got to see everyone as they completed.  As people are leaving the event, no short of 4 different people say as they are leaving, “so you are in for next year, riiight???”

So, as I mentioned, two lessons.  The first was the decision-making process, which taught me to weed out the expectations, demands, and even wishes of others, and get to the heart of the issue, which is what is good for me, and what works for me.  The second is having the conviction and confidence to stand up for my decision, and this was the much harder lesson.  I really struggled yesterday with not making a sharp comment, not getting defensive, and not going overboard explaining myself to every person present.   For the most part, I succeeded (although my husband had to hear about it, God bless him for listening!), and I think that the whole experience will get easier each subsequent time.  At least, I really, really hope so!

Today’s Miracle:

The perfect Sunday:  sleep in a bit, wonderful conversation over coffee, just a little bit of shopping, and back home to putter around on the computer.  It just doesn’t get any better!

Posted on March 24, 2013, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love this one. I think the idea of meditating upon it with God is great – I have to do the same when I need that extra strength and/or guidance. But what also was great in searching yourself for this, and truly checking your motives. Would have caved in before to people please? I probably would have. But like you, I have to dig deep a bit sometimes and see why I am feeling the way I am. The added problem sometimes is that saying NO was a default for me, in terms of being selfish. I didn’t want to do anything…so NO was out of my mouth often before anyone was finished asking me something. So I would have had to ask myself – am I being selfish? But it is clear you weren’t. You may have carried a resentment with going, and we know how terrible resentments are for us.

    The part I would have had too is not having a sarcastic or deflating retort to the immediate questions of next year. wow…that was might quick of them, eh? But they are excited, they just finished,and were just hoping to see you and anyone else have the great experience they had…I guess that is what I would have had to say over and over to not say anything harmful…haha.

    Thanks for this and I am proud of you for sticking to your guns.

    Blessings,
    Paul

    Like

  2. I still remember the first time someone told me the word, “no” WAS a complete answer. I still do it today and when I don’t I regret it. (not always, but you get what I’m saying) I hated the silence and had to fill it with my “process” … out loud. I love reading your posts. I so get you. At least I like to think I do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

