Graduation Day

It is never too late to be who you might have been.  -George Eliot

.027

Today I celebrate a monumental occasion… I have graduated from my outpatient therapy program as of 3 pm today!  The above picture is the coin I received in the “ceremony.”   I have occasionally written about this program, which consists of a group therapy session and an individual therapy session each week for the past 5 months.   Most weeks I dragged my feet going to these appointments.  It’s not that I have anything at all against rehabilitative therapy, but for me personally, I am invested enough in my 12-step program that most of what is covered in these sessions seemed redundant, and a redundancy for which I had to put out money each week.

Having said that, if I’m in something, I’m in, and so I made the most of every session I attended.  I shared, I listened, and I provided encouragement and support to my fellow group members.  I am not patting myself on the back here, in my mind it’s a given that if you are part of a group, you participate in the group.

So when my “graduation” came, and each person wished me well, I was overwhelmed by their kinds words.  Several of them vowed to attend the AA meeting I run on Mondays, one person had tears in his eyes telling me how much he will miss me, and another called me an inspiration for her recovery.  All this from a group to which I dragged myself.  Honestly, I was flabbergasted, as these are not people who seem totally convinced that 12-step recovery programs have much merit.  If I had to guess their opinion of me, I would have guessed that they thought I was the Jim Jones of AA… so much for my powers of perception!

In any event, I gave my phone number to a woman in the group who is really struggling with her current life circumstances, but does not yet feel ready to commit to a 12-step program.  She has already texted me, and I am hopeful that I can help her find her way to an AA meeting very soon.  This is the program in action!

Today’s Miracle:

Knowing that 4 hours a week have opened up in my schedule!

 

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Congratulations 🙂 What do the dates on the chip mean?

    Like

  2. That is wonderful…I am SO happy for you. You know, I was thinking about all the things that I started and never ever finished. I was a great starter, but just got either bored, or disinterested or saw something shinier and lovlier and just never got back to that level of excitement I had a the beginning. And I think we as alcoholics share that trait. So to see you committed to and finishing that therapy program is a wonderful accomplishment. Not for the program per se, but in actually seeing it through to the end. I get thrilled when I actually finish a book (I have about seven on the go – see? I haven’t changed there) but to finish something so important…well, that’s on a different level altogether…and you did it. Congrats!

    What even more important is what you gave to the group. You have given yourself – your warmth, your passion for recovery, your love, your compassion, your open mindedness and your gift of sharing. I can see that even on your blog, and not having “known” you for very long through your words here, but your spirit shines through the screen. You probably touch a lot more people than you think you do, and that is God working through you. You are a blessed and are a blessing.

    Thank you for the great news…and yes, this certainly is the program in action!

    Love and Light,
    Paul

    Like

  3. Time With Thea

    Congratulations! I had lost your blog for a bit due to some blog changes I had to go through and I am so glad I found your blog again! I am loving your blog design. What an inspirational journey you are sharing! I am rooting for you! ~Thea

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

