Dealing With Criticism

To avoid criticism say nothing, do nothing, be nothing. -Aristotle

In the span of about 15 minutes, and all before 8 o’clock in the morning, I was given the following feedback today:

1. My post yesterday rambled a bit much
2. I allowed old thinking to creep in, and, as a result, I interacted with my family in a negative way
3. I look odd… and, as a follow-up, some helpful advice: perhaps I should apply make-up before I go into the outside world

(To be fair, #3 came from a 10-year old boy)

In the spirit of comparing self to self, here’s how the “old me” would have handled the feedback: I would have been self-righteously indignant about the first, would have self-righteously dismissed the second, and would have self-righteously retaliated against the third for the rest of the day.

Here’s how the “new me” can, and will, handle this feedback. First, I will not lump them all together and decide that the day is doomed. Instead, I will look at them as individual pieces of information, and decide what to do with each. I will recognize that I regularly ask for feedback with my writing, and I will genuinely take the advice in the spirit in which it was given, and use it to improve my blog going forward.

With the second, I will consider the information, and whether or not I agree with the conclusion, I will accept that we are all entitled to our opinion, and I will respect it for that reason alone.

With the third, I will laugh my ass off, because he is absolutely correct!

Most important, I will see that when a chain of events is happening, they are happening for a reason, and I need to look inward and figure out what is going with my thoughts, feelings and behaviors, since they are the only thing I can control. As I may have mentioned once or twice, there are no coincidences, so I believe that God wants me to figure something out, and, if I choose to ignore this suggestion, the events will continue to happen until I do.

Now I need to go upstairs and put on some make-up!

Today’s Miracle:

The candor and perspective of a 10-year old boy (and the fact that I can laugh at it) qualifies as a miracle.

Posted on February 21, 2013, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Victoria Holland

    I think you look pretty w/out make up! Don’t listen to that kid! J

    Miss you!

    Victoria Holland

    Materials Manager

    Philip Rosenau Company

    215-956-1980 x120

    fax- 215-956-0864

    vholland@philiprosenau.com

    Like

  2. I can so much identify with what you’re saying here – both the “old you” and the you that you’re trying to be. I am definitely guilty of grouping things together, and I appreciate that you say you will *not* group those three criticisms together and let it snowball. Thank you for this post and these gentle reminders! – Caitlin.

    Like

  3. Well said! I loved it. It’s amazing how a simple (well, simple to us *now*) yet powerful shift in our perception sets us up for a learning experience rather than a trip on the resentment train. As alcoholics, selfishness and self-centeredness ruled us, and our ego ran the show. So any sort of criticism was a set up for lashing out, accusations and defense mechanisms to flare up. I know I would have done a lot of damage to myself, shredding my self-esteem (what little there was) to bits to prove that those people were *right*. Then drink *at* them (“I’ll show them…” blah blah blah).

    What a way to live now…with a pause to reflect, tuck away ego, and see where God is leading us.

    Thank you for this wonderful post.

    Blessings,
    Paul

    Like

  4. i’ve often said: Coincidence is the language of God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

