Happy Valentine’s Day!

Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage. -Lao Tzu

Oddly enough, I learned this prayer at an Ash Wednesday mass. Here is a new version of the time-honored Serenity Prayer:

A New Serenity Prayer

God, grant me the serenity
to accept the people I cannot change,
which is pretty much everyone,
since I’m clearly not you, God.
At least not the last time I checked.

And while you’re at it, God,
please give me the courage
to change what I need to change about myself,
which is frankly a lot, since, once again,
I’m not you, which means I’m not perfect.
It’s better for me to focus on changing myself
than to worry about changing other people,
who, as you’ll no doubt remember me saying,
I can’t change anyway.

Finally, give me the wisdom to just shut up
whenever I think that I’m clearly smarter
than everyone else in the room,
that no one knows what they’re talking about except me,
or that I alone have all the answers.

Basically, God,
grant me the wisdom
to remember that I’m
not you.

Amen.

Today’s Miracle:

In a time of emotional angst, I was driving in the car, and asked God for inspiration. The third song I flipped to was Help Is On Its Way by The Little River Band. Once again, Amazing!

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I need to print that off and staple it to my forehead.

    Yikes! Very cool – thanks for that 🙂

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this quote; Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage. -Lao Tzu

    Just what I needed to hear at 6.30pm today when I brought my hubby home not very well. Thankfully he is much better now. 🙂 how panic can rule my life!!!

    Love the extended serenity prayer. My uncle taught me that straight away when I came in the fellowship. Here’s his short form;

    ‘The things I cannot change’ = everyone else
    ‘The thing I can change’ = me
    ‘Wisdom’ = see above

    Like

  3. What a great version of the Serenity Prayer! Also, like Paul said, that Lao Tzu quote rocks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

