Stepping Out of Your Comfort Zone

If you keep on doing what you’ve always done, you’ll keep on getting what you’ve always got. -W.L. Bateman

Years ago, my Mom was driving up to the college I attended to visit me.  I’m not sure if it was her first time driving on her own, or she just took a wrong turn somewhere, but she got lost, and it took her a while to find her way to the campus (this was before the age of GPS and cell phones).  When she finally arrived, she was in a state, and exclaimed, “I could see the college, but I just couldn’t get to the college!”  This quote has stood the test of time amongst my group of friends, and we will still occasionally throw it out there.

Fast forward a couple of decades.  My husband and I are sitting on a beach and I was trying to open up about my struggles with recovery (this was during the 8 months where I was trying and failing).  I said to him, “I can see where I want my life to be, but it’s like it’s sitting across a crowded freeway.  I can see the destination, but I have no idea how to get there.”

So what’s the answer when we know what we want, or as the case may sometimes be, what we don’t want, but we’re completely unsure how to enact the right change?  In using my own journey of recovery as a reference point, I believe the answer is simply do something.  If you don’t like your current circumstances, whatever they may be, then the plain truth is that you have to change something.  I can hear the defenses going up…. but what do I change?  what if I make things worse?  what if I create a new set of problems?  I know all of these defenses because I’ve used them all myself, about a thousand times.  They are the rationalizations of someone who wants to remain stagnant.

When you make a change, then the outcome is uncertain.  But if you know you don’t like the current circumstances, and you refuse to make a change, then the outcome is certain… you will continue to live and feel the exact way you do now.  When you look at it that way, the answer is pretty simple!

Today’s Miracle:

As someone who really, really, really hates feeling cold, I have so appreciated this balmy 40 degree day (for the past week, we have been living in the teens, temperature-wise, in the Northeast), and it is supposed to get even warmer tomorrow!

Posted on January 29, 2013, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great message…simple, but is it always easy? I used many of those excuses too – too frightened to make that first move (or second, or third…) ,yet complacent in my spot pointing fingers at everyone else except myself. What a dastardly place to be in. In my own alcoholism, it was the fear of drinking any more that got me to make that very uncomfortable, but life changing, shift to recovery. But what now? Does something have to be at life threatening levels before I get off my butt and change something? It certainly feels like it at times! It’s a shift of perception for me, and as I see things with more and more clarity, and I have the actual experience of moving through things, I get the courage through that and God to move me where He needs me to be. It’s still a frightening proposition at times, but with small changes are great rewards. At least, that has been my little ‘ol experience. Thanks for the great post 🙂

    Cheers,
    Paul

    Like

    • Paul, you have just read my thoughts, my prayers yesterday were EXACTLY what you just said, “God, please don’t let things get to life threatening proportions before I can make a change!” It is amazing that you would write it down the same day! Thanks so much for your reply, you helped me a lot!

      Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

