A Series of Bottoms: The Final Chapter

I hit rock bottom, but thank God my bottom wasn’t death. –Stevie Ray Vaughan

I can already hear my husband challenging the title of this post, he would argue that my next post should be labeled the final chapter, but for me, this is the finale, God willing, in terms of bottoming out.

Okay, quick summary of the past three days… for 8-9 months, I had been attempting recovery, with absolutely zero success (if you are just joining this story, read back a few posts to Chapter 1).  And each turning point during that time took me lower and lower, and feeling more and more hopeless.  Where we last left off, I had been struggling with marital problems, frustration and/or outright anger from family and friends, multiple failed rehab treatments, failed attempts with AA, stepwork, sponsors, and on top of it all, the question mark of legal consequences.

And still I continued my addiction.

My final day was actually this day (Friday), but the date was January 26, 2012.  The day started like any other.  I attempted to pray, but deep down knew that I would get up, and go right back to what I knew… addictive behavior.  I could retrace every step of that day, but I’m not sure it would serve much purpose.  I will, however, recount what has become for me the critical moment.  I had a thought so clear that I actually said it out loud, to myself, in the car:  “There was not one part of this day that was fun.”

Anyone reading who is an addict knows that after a time, your drug of choice becomes totally ineffective, and what you are in fact doing is chasing the high that hasn’t really happened for a long time.  By this point in my addiction, I really had no pleasant physical reaction at all, so of course the question becomes, then why do it?  That question is already answered in the minds of every addict reading this, and will never be answered to the satisfaction of every non-addict.  The ultimate answer:  I do it because I am an addict.

Back to the story:  so at the time I did not know I was uttering profound words, but in fact I was, because that was my last day of using a mind-altering substance.  The day continued, and I actually had plans that evening to go out with some friends.  During the car ride to the restaurant I spoke with my husband, and got a sense that something was amiss, but had no idea what it could be.  I got home later that evening, and waiting for me was a card and a dozen roses… it was the anniversary of our first date.  He remembered, I did not.  And while there were these beautiful things waiting for me, my husband’s mood was not one of them.  I tried to pry it out of him, but he would not budge…. nothing was wrong, he said.

Went to bed, next day, the icy silence continued.  I tried multiple times to figure out the problem, but to no avail.  This is technically day 1 of sobriety, but the ramifications of my behavior are still to come.

My final bottom was more or less like an airplane hitting a runway as it is attempting to come to a stop… a series of bumps, and then… silence.

Bump:  Sunday morning, I wake up, my husband is already out of bed.  He comes into the room, I ask, for perhaps the 1,000th time that weekend, can you please tell me what’s wrong.  He sits down on the bed, and lays it out very simply:  he cannot do this anymore, I need to leave the house, immediately.  He will drive me to my Mom‘s, but that is it.  If I don’t go, he will make a scene in front of the kids, and cause irreparable damage to my relationship with them.  He takes my phone, my keys, almost everything out of my wallet, and drives me away from my home.

Bump:  I am dropped off, like a bag of garbage, at my Mom’s house.  Both siblings that live there and my Mother cannot even look at me, they are so angry, hurt, and disappointed.

Bump:  The next day, I have an already scheduled lawyer’s visit, at which point I am told that there seems to be no other alternative but jail time for my legal consequences.

Bump:  The next day, I must report to a police station to make all the charges official.  My picture is taken, I am finger printed, just like you see on TV.

And then… silence.  And there I sat, my life in ruins, with very little idea of how I ever got to this place.

I’d like to add, at this point, that writing these posts for the past three days has been so much more difficult than I ever could have imagined.  Which is good, because I never would have done it if I had known how difficult it would be.  Mainly, I have discovered in the past few days that I am, at heart, an optimistic, hopeful person, and writing about such dire things really goes against my grain.  But if my story has touched even one person, and helped them in some way, then it is more than worth it.

I will conclude with what has become the beginning of my road to recovery.  The first night that I stayed at my Mom’s, I could not sleep to save my life.  As light was not even breaking on that next day, I got out of bed, dropped to my knees, and I prayed like I have never prayed before.  I believe, and often share, that acceptance of my disease came at that moment, and I got the answer that carried me through the next year of my life.  I need to do 4 things that day, and every day thereafter:  pray, go to a meeting, talk to another addict, and those three will keep me from the fourth, which is not pick up a drink or drug.  And I allowed myself the luxury of having only those 4 things on my “to-do” list for each and every day:  as long as I do those things, I have had a wildly successful day.

And that is where the next story begins…

Today’s Miracle:

If you are a Catholic, you will appreciate this one.  I thought that the past 3 days were much like Holy Thursday, Good Friday, and Holy Saturday… full of sadness, but also of hope for Easter Sunday.  And then I laughed out loud at the audacity of comparing myself to Jesus Christ!

Posted on January 25, 2013, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Tears…. its all I could muster up…. Thank God you are here to tell this story and you are standing on the correct side of it, recovery!

    Thank you so very much.

    -Pops-

    Like

  2. I am sure that everyone that reads this week’s blogs feel like they too have lived through your journey. Even though it was devastating to read, I truly admire your courage in writing your story. If it helps only one person, it was worth the pain.

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness … ty for sharing. I have too much to write so I’ll send an email instead. Love you. Me

    Like

  1. Pingback: How do you silence YOUR inner critic? | My Present Self

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

