Pain Must Be Felt

Pain insists upon being attended to. God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our consciences, but shouts in our pains. It is his megaphone to rouse a deaf world. –C.S. Lewis

This weekend I suffered my first real physical pain since being in recovery:  I pulled something in my back (how I did it, I really couldn’t tell you), and I have had difficulty walking for the past 2 days.   Multiple “old lady” jokes from my younger husband later…

The story of hurting my back would not be worth writing down, if it were not for being in recovery.  It is temporary, and it is not seriously debilitating.   It becomes significant, however, because in the past I would have gone running to the doctor’s for a lot less than this kind of pain.  So the fact that I made it through without wanting to numb myself… well, it counts for something, anyway.

Having said that, I wouldn’t go out to buy me any trophies.  Because now that I’ve had a chance to explore some real pain, and a real response to it, I have to honestly say that pain is not a trigger for me.  In fact, it brought to mind a memory from a surgery I had quite a few years ago (and before I was in active addiction).  I remember having a prescription for pain medication, and I remember consciously having the thought, “Well, if I take this now, while in real pain, that’s pretty much a waste.  Why not suffer through the pain and then have the medication for a time I can really enjoy it?”  Remember, that thought was years before active addiction!

That was not a pleasant memory to have, or even to share, but it’s the truth.  The difference between then and now is the knowledge I have gained, the ability to identify the irrational thoughts, and the skills I have developed to combat those thoughts when they come my way… namely, to share about them with people who understand.

It is interesting to me that this is all happening as I am winding down the clock on the first year of recovery.  Also interesting:  as I opened WordPress to write this post, a fellow blogger’s writing caught my eye because she just celebrated her one-year anniversary (congrats Renee!).  Towards the end of her post, she wrote, in big letters, “pain must be felt.”  So I hope that she does not mind my using her quote for my title, because it sure fits my life right about now!

Today’s Miracle:

The support and help from my family, my friends, and the people in my Monday meeting today is nothing less than miraculous.  I am truly blessed.

Posted on January 21, 2013, in Self-Care and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. LOL about the “younger husband” comment. Hope your back is better soon…but so impressed (yet again) how you use everything to move forward and take a lesson for your life.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Anonymous Social Workers and commented:
    Loving this!!!

    Like

  3. Love it!!!

    Like

  4. Feel better. Love how you always use what’s happening to move you forward. Very inspiring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

