Fear: A Mind Game

You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’  You must do the thing you think you cannot do. –Eleanor Roosevelt

You hear it all the time:  You have nothing to fear but fear itself, and so on.  And, the best one:  just think differently about the situation you fear, and the fear goes away.  My response would involve several expletives, but, in essence:  Give me a break.  If I am deeply fearful, it would seem impossible to just think differently to make it all go away.

And yet…

The last couple of days I have been fearful about a potential upcoming situation.  Too long of a story for this post, but I fear being required to do something I truly believe would be wrong, and I am fearful about how to best respond to such a requirement.  All of this fear is projection, and may very well amount to a complete waste of mental time, but, again, try telling my mind to stop thinking about something?  It’s a joke.

So in yesterday’s post I mentioned I had a wonderful conversation with a friend.  Later in the evening I had another opportunity to exchange emails with some other long-time friends.  These emails have been so entertaining, I cannot even describe the fun I have had.  So when I sat down to write this post, I realized, that, while the actual day of the situation causing fear is upon me, my mindset is completely happy.  As I sat and realized it, I was astounded.  Dammit, I’m wrong again!  It is all in my head!!

So I guess I will endorse the one about thinking differently to make fear go away, but maybe tweak it a bit:  If you are sitting in fear, engage in something completely different to distract you from your thoughts.  Chances are you will be able to change your focus, because, believe me, if I can do it with my stubborn mind, anyone can.

Today’s Miracle:

Looking forward to a Thursday.  Normally this is the WORST day of the week for me, but today I got to get up early, attend a “Muffins with Mom” gig at my son’s school, spend quality time with my sister-in-law, and, finally, entertain her… our garage door would only open a foot, and I did not have a key, so I had to do an Evel Knievel roll (seriously, a roll, the space was not even large enough for me to crawl through) to get into my house.  We will both be laughing about my acrobatics for the rest of the day.  Maybe this is my new fitness routine?

Posted on January 10, 2013, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. awesome message for today… it is greatly appreciated by me! Keep blogging please 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

