The Blessings of Recovery

St. Andrew Christmas Novena Prayer to Obtain Favors

Hail and blessed be the hour and moment in which the Son of God was born of the most pure Virgin Mary, at midnight, in Bethlehem, in piercing cold. In that hour, vouchsafe, O my God! to hear my prayer and grant my desires, through the merits of Our Saviour Jesus Christ, and of His Blessed Mother. Amen.

(It is piously believed that whoever recites the above prayer fifteen times a day from the feast of St. Andrew (30th November) until Christmas will obtain what is asked.)

The prayer listed above may be familiar to the Catholics reading this post, it is a Christmas tradition to try to remember saying it 15 times a day for 25 days!  I have been attempting this ritual for more years than I can count.  Two interesting things to note about this year’s novena.  First, my good friend and novena partner left me a voicemail on the 29th to remind me to start praying it the next day.  I listened to his voicemail, then walked over to the computer to google the prayer to make sure I remembered all the words.  In my inbox was a group email from a distant relative, and she wrote out the prayer.  Good stuff…

The next day I sat down to officially start the novena.  As I mentioned, I have been doing this for years, I’m trying to remember all of the different “favors” for which I have prayed, I’m sure sobriety and weight loss topped the list!  But in general I believe the idea is to pray for one particular favor.  This year, I was sincerely stumped… I really and truly don’t have a specific need.  The most I could come up with is “please let the miracle that is my life continue to be as blessed as it currently is.”  Great stuff…

Posted on December 3, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a lovely prayer. I am committing to starting this today. I, too, feel the need for nothing at a spiritual level. At an intellectual level, however, the list is too long. (my subconscious, aka: ego, at work). I do find great comfort in prayers to the Blessed Mother. She is my favorite female mentor. J, thank you for sharing this with us. I was wanting a refreshed prayer to communicate and it showed up with this post. Girl I love you! L

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

