Take What You Need And Leave The Rest

If you do not tell the truth about yourself you cannot tell it about other people. -Virginia Woolf

Man, did I have a crazy AA experience today.  I attended a meeting that was like a second home to me in my earliest sobriety (come to think of it, it was actually more like a first home at that point in time!).  I try to get there once a week these days, and today was the day.  Which was extra nice, because I celebrated 10 months yesterday, and was able to do it with my original clan today.  But I digress…

A woman I know well was there, and, to put it bluntly, seemed stoned in every way… her words were slurred, her gait was off-balance, her eyes unfocused.  That fact alone is upsetting enough, but to add to my alarm is that I know her personally, she actually has about a month or so less sober time than I do, and I met her at her very first post-rehab meeting.  Now, a person in recovery who has potentially relapsed is, sadly, not a new story, but here’s the twist:  She was chairing this particular meeting, and she was not acknowledging her altered state in any way.  This led to all sorts of difficulties within the meeting… it was difficult to understand her, she “held the group hostage” with her speaking, and, therefore, by the time she opened it up to the group for sharing, there were only 8 minutes left in a 60-minute meeting.

And here’s where the drama begins… an agitated member spent the remaining minutes yelling and cursing about how angry he was at this situation.  I have honestly never felt as uncomfortable in an AA meeting as I did today.  While he certainly had a right to his frustration, he (in my opinion) exacerbated an already tense situation.

So, what do I take and what do I leave?  Whatever the opposite of “strong suit” is, that is my relationship with confrontation, I am impossibly bad at it.  And yet, I was legitimately concerned for her well-being.  A friend and I tried to speak with her after the meeting, she claimed she was exhausted and nothing more.  She had sober women who were driving her, so the immediate safety concern was resolved.

I guess what I can take from this morning’s adventures is “there but for the Grace of God go I.”  I am so grateful to be sober today, and for there to be no question of my sobriety.  I can also use this as an example of what NOT to do.  When you chair a meeting, you have an extra responsibility to the group, and this morning was a big reminder of that fact.  And I will leave that man’s agitation, and his judgments, behind… I am responsible for my own recovery, not anyone else’s, and if someone is unwilling to be honest and reach out for help, then there is not much more I can do except be there if and when the time comes.

Posted on November 28, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hate it when there is any sort of conflict at a meeting. My heart goes out to that woman.

    Like

  2. How do you respond to a situation like that? I would have thought others in the meeting would have stopped her short, at the beginning? Anyway, great way to simply let it go. No, you are not responsible for her sobriety, only your reaction to the situation, which seemed to be done well. Congrats on 10 whole months!

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

