If You Want What We’ve Got, Then Do What We Do!

It’s not what you were, it’s what you are today. -David Marion

First, I hope everyone had a wonderful, blessed Thanksgiving day.  I did.  I was most grateful for being able to cook a meal alongside my husband, while navigating through children-generated chaos, and to sit down at a table and share that meal with people I love, and who love me.  It is a small way for me to give back to the people who weathered the many storms I brought to their lives.

But onto new topics… today I attended my regular Friday morning AA meeting, this week was a speaker meeting.  I had never met the woman who spoke, but it felt like I did, because she told my story.  I have heard many speakers in the last 10 months, and I can usually relate to some part of their story, but today was the first time I actually felt uncomfortable as I listened, because so much of her pain was my pain, and it hurt me to relive it.

But here is the cool part of recovery… growth.  In the past, when I heard something to which I could relate, I would feel a sense of kinship, or I would feel validated that I was right where I needed to be, which is good stuff.  Today, I heard this woman’s message, and I realized that while I am proud of the accomplishments I have made, I can see, through her, what I aspire to be.  While I don’t enjoy remembering how bad it was, I can look to this woman as a source of inspiration, and realize that I have more work to do.  I want what she has, so I need to do what she does.

For me, that growth took place by walking up to her after the meeting, introducing myself, and letting her know how her story affected me.  I am still on the shy side when it comes to opening up to speakers and chair people, but I realized that if I want to learn from her, she has to know who I am.  So I just did it.  And she was as wonderful as I knew she would be.  We exchanged phone numbers, and I hope to meet up with her again soon.  It is just another step on the journey, but I can recognize the steps as I’m taking them now!

 

 

Posted on November 23, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

