Levity in Recovery

Do not take life too seriously. You will never get out of it alive. –Elbert Hubbard

Yesterday I stumbled upon some disturbing information.  Quick background:  I have lived in my neighborhood for 6 years, and I really love my neighbors, they are a wonderful group of people and I have had some really fun times with them.  I have been sober for 232 days, so you can imagine how my neighbors know me.  Fortunately for me and for them, they know me more as the fun gal who likes to drink rather than the alcoholic I am.  For that reason, I made the decision, relatively early on, that my recovery is my personal business and I would only share the information if it becomes absolutely necessary.

Which, apparently, now it has.

So yesterday I am talking to a family member who also happens to be a neighbor, and she mentioned that one of our group believes that I no longer like her.  She has had two parties in my recovery, and both times I have consciously chosen to leave early due to the alcohol present.  I believed at the time that I had made gracious exits, and I have seen her since, so I was completely unaware that there was any trouble brewing.

The interpretation of my early exits from her parties?  She now believes I am a racist.  I actually laughed when I found this out, thinking I was being punk’d, but no, she really thinks I have difficulty being in a room with different ethnicities (my neighbor is in a mixed-race marriage, so I am unclear if she thinks I don’t like black people, Indian people, or just anyone other than myself).

Of course, I was horrified, and I will attempt to right this wrong thinking as soon as I can.  In my meeting today, the topic was about finding humor in our past addictive behavior, and being able to laugh at ourselves.  Normally, I have little to share at these types of meetings, but today I did, because, really, it is just comical!  I left a party early to help my recovery, and now I have to decide which is the lesser of two evils… letting them think I am a racist, or admitting I am an alcoholic?

You just can’t make this stuff up…

Posted on September 18, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow, out of all the possible outcomes, that one is right out of left field! It is comical, but also a bit sad too that you might be forced to share before you’re ready and with someone you might not have told otherwise, just to defend yourself against a crazy idea someone has.
    I hope you write about the outcome of this, i’ll be interested to see how it resolves. Good luck! xo

    Like

    • I will absolutely post a follow-up, and, believe me, I know what you mean by this being more sad than funny. Your word choice is great, “all the possible outcomes..” I wasn’t even aware enough to think that there were possible outcomes, I was just a neighbor leaving a party!! I can only pray that I will do the next right thin. Thanks so much for your comments, I absolutely love feedback!

      Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

