Weekend Wrap-Up

A few follow-up’s from previous posts… my large family reunion (the one that required tons of work) was a wonderful occasion, and occurred on Saturday.   Weather held out, and it was fantastic seeing family members that I generally don’t see except for this event.  Two points of interest:  first, I am conscious about how much more attention I pay to people when I am not drinking.  If I had been partying like I did at the last reunion, the focus would have been on the next drink instead of the family surrounding me, and before you know it I would have little memory of the evening.  Second, a very close cousin had a medical scare that required her to be taken to the hospital by ambulance in the evening.  Because of my recovery, I:

a.  Noticed that she had fallen ill

b.  Was able to physically help her while we waited for the ambulance, and, most importantly,

c.  Was able to f0llow the ambulance by car (trust me, not many at that party could make that claim!)

Sunday was a smaller, more immediate family gathering, and… same miracles apply.  In choosing recovery, I am also choosing to be present at any given function, and actually care about the people around me.  And of course, there is the added bonus of not making a fool of myself, and remembering the events in the morning!

Finally, last night, my very good friend invited me to attend the Bruce Springsteen concert with him, as a way of celebrating my success thus far.  As if my recovery is not celebration enough!  I had the most thoroughly enjoyable evening in recent memory… no event planning required, just show up, and have a blast!  It should go without saying that the concert was superb (I am a long-time Bruce fan), he played for 3 1/2 hours straight!  I feel like I did not stop laughing from the time we got into the car to head down to Philly, until the time I left my friends house after 1 in the morning.  The significance of the night… that someone wanted to spend time with me, and celebrate my recovery, is something I will hold special forever.

Most important, Bruce played Jungleland…. I am so lucky!!

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love your sweet (and memorable) victory. I love it when I am able to give, instead of expecting to receive. Sounds like you do too. Yeahhhh for recovery!

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

