Third Time’s the Charm

Individual commitment to a group effort- that is what makes a team work, a company work, a society work, a civilization work. –Vince Lombardi

This has been an eventful weekend, and I am only halfway through it!

Many things to discuss, but I will focus on one topic so I don’t ramble more than blogging etiquette will allow:  I shared my story, for the third time in my recovery, at an AA meeting this morning.  This time was different from the first two in that I was sharing with a group of complete strangers.  Long story short, I met a woman earlier in the week that was positively affected by what I had to say, so much that she asked me to share my story at a meeting she was chairing.  That alone is both humbling and overwhelming, because I could not even tell you what I said that could have had so much impact.

I was pretty nervous about sharing today.  The main reason for my nerves is that my story involves a lot more than alcohol, and the tradition of Alcoholics Anonymous is that sharing should be limited to issues that concern alcohol.  I simply cannot do that when I am telling my story, and so my critical mind convinces me that no one will appreciate or value what I have to say.  So, eventually, in order to get up in front of a room full of strangers with the express purpose of laying my soul bare, I have to (and did) talk back to my critical mind, take a deep breath, and say “screw it, I am who I am, I can only effectively tell my story my way…” and I just do it.

And, once again, the miracle happens.  Much is written about the value of support groups, the power that lies in like-minded people coming together to share a common problem in the hopes of finding a solution.  It is why Weight Watchers is the number one weight loss program, and why AA is the most successful in recovery from addiction.  Because when you open up about yourself to a group of people who understand the way your mind works, have been where you’ve been and done what you’ve done, you feel validated in a way you can’t feel anywhere else.  So you put yourself out there, and that very act frees you.

But it doesn’t stop there, and that is what I’m just starting to understand.  Because when you share your deepest secrets, you give the people listening the security, and thus the power, to open up and share their deepest secrets.  And they feel validated because they’ve just shared some of their pain.  And so it goes, in that upward spiral I have spoken about in earlier posts.  It is an amazing thing of which to be a part, and I am so blessed to have been given this opportunity.

More to follow about my action-packed weekend…

Posted on September 2, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beautiful to watch you morph. It’s as if the lights go on for me too! I think to myself, “yes, yes .. that is how it happens.” Anxiously awaiting reunion updates. I’m a little behind on post reading, but I’m getting caught up. Lots of love, L

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Calmness, non-doing, resilience, and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

