Sometimes It’s Good To Be An Alcoholic

Step 10 of Alcoholics Anonymous:  Continued to take personal inventory and when we were wrong promptly admitted it

Today has been one of those days in which I am consciously grateful to be a member of a 12-step program.  The day started, as most days do, with children bickering to the point that requires my involvement.  I attempted to remain calm and talk through the problem, and I further tried to encourage them to take a step back and look at the bigger picture of why the incessant arguing is problematic for everyone.  To say this did not go well would be an understatement, and I, for the second time this summer, left the house very angry.

I arrived at my regular meeting at the same time as a friend did.  Since I apparently wear my emotions the way other people wear clothes, he took one look at me and wanted to know what was wrong.  I told him the events of the morning, and his response?  “You know, Josie, the point of this program is to practice these principles in all our affairs, and those affairs include our children.”  I promptly told him to shut up, but of course he was absolutely correct.

I think up to this point I have thanked God for all my blessings, and I turn over to Him all in my life that is huge, or seems to have no answer, or is overwhelming.  But the smaller issues, like my constant annoyance with my children?  It has never occurred to me to turn that over, because overall, I know I am so blessed with their health and happiness.  It seems trivial to ask God for help with the minor stuff.  But here’s what happens when you don’t turn the little stuff over… it becomes big stuff, and then I react in ways that I regret.  Later in the same meeting an older gentleman was speaking of the 7 (holy moly!) grandchildren that he watches daily, and how thankful he is to have a higher power that he can shoot a prayer up to:  “God, just help me keep quiet for 20 seconds, that’s all I need to regain control.”

Now why didn’t I think of that?

The final component that makes me happy to be an alcoholic:  by the end of my meeting, I was calm, centered, and able to go home and make amends to my children.  I followed up with a much more productive conversation about my expectations for their behavior, and, for the time being, I believe they understand.  Until the next argument, peace reigns in my household!

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you found a solution for frustration with the kids. What a great idea. Whenever we feel anxiety with any situation, turn it over to God. Even little problems. Another lesson learned.

    Like

  2. Sometimes it’s great!

    I always kinda smirked when I heard “grateful alcoholic” (yeah right!) but it’s so true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

