Faith

“Faith isn’t believing without proof – it’s trusting without reservation.” -William Sloane Coffin

I have a daily meditation book that is supposed to help focus you each day (and maybe it would, if I actually picked it up every day).  Today’s entry talked about not letting the little problems in life divert you from achieving, and more importantly, appreciating, your goal.

In some ways this is easy to apply.  For example, my goal has been to provide my children with really positive experiences and memories this summer.   After the way this year started for them, it is the least I can do.  If I allow the incessant bickering, whining and back-talk to take the wheel, I will, first, fail to see that their summer has been the stuff of kids’ dreams, and second, I won’t be able to relish the time I have with them.  So I get that advice for this area of my life.

But sometimes it is difficult to have a clear-cut goal in mind.  I have been dealing with some consequences from my active addiction for months and months now.  The road to the end has taken different twists and turns, and through it my end goal has been forced to change time and again.  Every time I know what I want the end result to look like, another wrench gets thrown into the works and my vision needs to change accordingly.

What do you do when your end goal changes without your permission?  The answer, for me anyway, is simple:  believe with all my heart that whatever the outcome, God is arranging it, and He is doing it for a reason.  All I need to worry about is doing the next right thing, and the rest of it will all work out.

Posted on August 23, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

