Kids These Days…

When my kids become wild and unruly, I use a nice, safe playpen. When they’re finished, I climb out. ~Erma Bombeck

If, as the Staples commercial says, back to school is the most wonderful time of the year, then the three weeks preceding it are certainly the most challenging, at least for parents of school-age children.  I can recall when my kids were babies several family members saying, “enjoy them now while they can’t talk.”  I really hope I took full advantage of that time…

Remember, when you were young, lectures that began “when I was your age…,” “you don’t know how good you have it…,” and “you kids these days…”?  Remember rolling your eyes at these lectures?  I really, really do remember, and now, I could take an hour or so to finish each one of these sentences!  To all the people of the generation ahead of me… I get it now, and I’m sorry for causing you the annoyance that the younger generation is currently causing me.

Now, here is the ironic twist.  This morning’s troubles started when I announced we had to go to mass this morning (in the Catholic faith, it is a holy day of obligation).  For the non-Catholics reading this, it is the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  Without going into too much detail, it is basically Mother’s Day for the most important Mom who ever graced this planet.

So the message I gained, as I listened to the homily about this feast day, is that I need to go to Mary with my kid annoyances, and she will help me out, on this day especially.  She better, for the kids’ sakes!

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love this one! No child understands until they become a parent themselves. I have been laughing ever since I read this blog.

    Like

  2. You’re probably getting tired of me showing up commenting. I grew up Catholic, I get this post from that perspective—especially! Mary is such a good role model for mothering. Thank you for reminding me of her constant presence—holy day or not, she has always comforted me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

