Family

The strength of a family, like the strength of an army, is in its loyalty to each other. –Mario Puzo

Over the past 7 days, I had the opportunity to visit a sick family member, which ultimately meant saying good-bye to that family member.  I was then able to participate in the funeral arrangements, speak at the service, and then, the most comforting part, spend time with the living members of my family afterwards.  From that service I was able to join another set of family members to celebrate my God Daughter’s ninth birthday.  Today, I leave for two days to spend some one-on-one time with family that lives further away.  Four days from now, I will be vacationing with yet more family for a week “down the shore.”

Would these events take place in active addiction as they do in sobriety?  Absolutely, positively not!  Living in sobriety is like looking at life through an entirely different set of eyes, ones with sharper focus and much clearer vision.  Even the sad parts of life, like the funeral I attended, take on a deeper meaning, and I had a much greater appreciation for both the deceased, and the living who grieve.

This is not to say that I don’t have family challenges.  I still have two big issues in my life with regard to family, two issues that I daily find ways to justify my procrastination in handling.  The whole “one day at a time” mantra can be somewhat detrimental to someone who could make a profession out of putting off until tomorrow what I don’t feel like doing today.  But what is comforting is that I truly believe in the quote above, and even with the issues I face with these two family members, I believe in my heart that we have loyalty to one another, and that things will eventually work out.

All of this positive energy is another gift of sobriety, and it will continue as long as I continue in recovery!

Posted on July 30, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

