The Power of Prayer

The more you pray, the less you’ll panic. The more you worship, the less you worry.  You’ll feel more patient and less pressured.  –Rick Warren

I had a really nice, relaxing day today… I was able to attend my favorite 12-step meeting that I haven’t been able to attend in about a week, I had a fun afternoon at the pool with my kids, under a cloudless, blue sky, and got home to find my niece waiting to play with my kids, which allows me to see my niece and also entertain my kids while I write my post.  In between I returned phone calls that I have been meaning to return, threw in a load of wash, and unloaded the dishwasher to boot… I couldn’t ask for a better day.

So when I received an ominous voice mail that spoke of needing information regarding collecting a debt, I was thrown into a tailspin.  When I tell you my mood did a 180, I’ve never felt anything quite like it.  My heart started racing, and I couldn’t function for a few minutes.  I listened to the voice mail no less than 5 times trying to figure out what it was all about, to no avail… the caller did not get my name correct, did not leave the company name, and was (I believe) intentionally vague about the purpose of the call.  No matter how many times I said to myself “this makes no sense, you have no debt for anyone to collect,” I could not calm down.  Finally, I took the bull by the horns, and called the number left on the voice mail.  Yes, you know the end of this story… complete and total scam.  Side note:  it is truly terrible the gimmicks companies use to get people to call them back.

I was really impatient with myself by the time I wrapped up this incident (which, to be fair, probably took a total of 10 minutes, but still, complete disruption to my otherwise beautiful day!).  When am I going to instinctively use the tools I have been given by my program of recovery?  The entire thing truly wrapped up for me when I looked up at the ceiling, and shot a prayer up:  please take this anxiety from me, and, truly, it worked!  So I had to re-direct my thought process and write about the power of prayer rather than my original subject.

The ultimate point is this:  prayer works, and not just for the big things, it works at any point in the day, for any need you may have.  Try it!

Posted on July 25, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

