Friends

Making friends for the world to see

Let the people know you got what you need

With a friend at hand you can see the light

If you friends are there, then everything’s alright

I have had the great fortune of maintaining the same group of friends for over 20 years.  Careers, geography and family responsibilities prevent us from getting together as often as we did in our 20’s, but, like all good friends, as soon as we gather it is as if no time has passed.

Today, with 160 days of sobriety, I can appreciate these amazing people more so than I ever have.   Almost every person in the group knows my tale of woe, and yet, it is as if I am the same college pal they hung with on campus.  There was no awkwardness, no strained conversation, no judgment at all.  And I had the absolute time of my life.

Another observation I made, with unbelievable gratitude:  this celebration was the first where I was sober among friends who were drinking.  In the past, this type of event would fill me with resentment and self-pity… why can they drink and I can’t?  Instead, with the help of the tools I gained in recovery, I was able to appreciate the fact that I was lucid throughout the evening, and I noted that while everyone drank regularly through the entire night, not one of these people were as drunk as I would have been if I were drinking.  I slept well, woke with no hangover, and was able to remember every moment of the night… another feat I most likely did not accomplish the last time we were all together.

 The blessings in my life are too numerous to count!

Posted on July 7, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful revelation to discover that you can have a great time without drinking and wake up with no regrets and feel awesome! Congrats.

    Like

  2. We were all so proud of you on Friday and Saturday! Honestly, I think you are even more fun when you are sober! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you had such a wonderful experience. The group of friends we have are truly special people. I also know that having you there, being in such a great place in your recovery, made the great time even better. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

MessyJessy

The emotional messy stuff...

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

