School’s Out For Summer!

It is not necessary to change.  Survival is not mandatory.  ~W. Edwards Deming 

I had to laugh when I read the quote I printed above.  At this time of year, anyone with school-age children will know exactly why I chose this topic.  Whether you are a working Mom or the stay-at-home variety, summertime has a unique set of opportunities and challenges.  I am 1 hour into the summer vacation and I have already yelled at one child, negotiated an argument, and sent both children outside to play.

So I can look at this new situation in one of two ways:  1.  Dear God it is going to be a long summer (this was the thought I had after I yelled but before I drank my coffee).  or 2.  Wow, do I have a great opportunity to do things different, as a woman in recovery, this summer!  Obviously, since I am writing the two options for the world to see, I am going to attempt the latter choice (with the option to occasionally wallow in the first). 

What is awesome is taking the lessons learned in recovery and applying them to everyday life.  Just because I started the first day of summer on a frustrated note does not mean my whole day is ruined.  In fact, it is just the opposite… it is an opportunity to learn, and apply that knowledge to the next frustrating situation that arises. Which, at the rate this morning has gone, will be any second… how lucky am I to be able to use the knowledge I’ve gained so quickly and so often?!?

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

