Snapping Out of it, or Dealing with Fear

As I contemplate composing this post, it occurs to me that it is fairly miraculous that this is the first that I am truly dealing with this emotion in 134 days of sobriety.

Here is what I discovered:  it is much easier to “stay in today” when you are not faced with an upcoming fear.  Rather, when an upcoming fear is given a date and time. 

For the last several months, I truly have been able to live in each day, and if I had a worry, or stressors, I was able to take a deep breath, remind myself to stay in the day, and appreciate what is going on around me in the moment.

But in the last day or so (actually, now that I think about it, in the last 18 hours or so), a consequence of my addiction has moved from the back burner of my life to the front burner, and I have been unable to get my “mojo” back ever since then.

I am certainly aware this happens to people, both in and out of addiction, all the time.  I usually have great words of advice for these people, and in fact have given these pearls out often in the last 4 months.  So how to take my own advice?

I guess I need to remind myself of my priorities: 

1.   Do not pick up a drink or a drug (check!)

2.  Pray (double check!!)

3.  Go to a meeting (check again)

4.  Speak to another alcoholic (4 for 4)

When all this fails and I still can’t get the serenity back?  Remind myself that this too shall pass, and keep busy, because dwelling on any issue has gotten me nothing but a headache in the past.  Sooner or later, I will gain the perspective I need to gain… as long as I believe that fact alone, I will be alright.  Hopefully better posts will follow!

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Days like this are bound to happen to anyone. Take your own advice and live in this day. Tomorrow will take care of itself. This is just one more step to be completed in this journey, and when it is done you will be free so to speak. God is always beside you, please remember that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

