Happy Mother’s Day

This may be a day late, but hopefully not a dollar short.  I wanted to write this yesterday, but I felt I was better served showing my Mom‘s how much they mean to me, and now today I am going to tell them.

Of all the “Hallmark holidays,” Mother’s Day is definitely the most legitimate because, as all the recent commercials, magazine ads, and various cards we have all just purchased, Moms are a very special breed.  No matter how many kids they have, no matter what ages their children are, Moms sacrifice so much of themselves for their children, and they rarely even think of it as a sacrifice.

But of all the Moms that need to be acknowledged, Moms of addicts truly deserve the most praise.  If the Mom of a “normal” child worries on a daily basis, then what can be said about the Mom of an addict?  It is difficult to contemplate.  And if you could quantify the amount of forgiveness the average Mom allows for the average kid, then to what degree more does she allow for her addicted child?  I am not a mathematician, but I would think that amount is immeasurable.

And the most amazing part of all is how little Moms seem to ask in return for all this forgiveness, all this love.  I believe because for Moms, they don’t even consider how much they are doing… in their minds, it is just “their job.”  But truly, the extra love, support and forgiveness Moms give to their addict children is not a requirement, and, as one of these recipients, I truly appreciate it.

Many people suffer the loss of their Mothers for any number of reasons… death, separation, estrangement.  I am so blessed, despite all of the mistakes I have made in my lifetime, to have the gift of not one Mother, but two, and I am taking the time today (a day late), to tell them both how much their love and support mean to me, and that I wouldn’t have my 107 days of sobriety without them.  If everyone had even one of my Moms, the world would be a much happier, much stronger place.

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That was such a beautiful tribute. It made me cry tears of joy. To be appreciated as a mother is the most important thing a parent can have. To see your efforts come to fruition is such a reward, and I have seen that in you. I am so proud that you are my daughter and friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

MessyJessy

The emotional messy stuff...

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

