Step One

The first of AA’s 12 steps reads:  “We admitted we were powerless over alcohol, that our lives had become unmanageable.”  I have found 2 things to be true:  that you absolutely cannot succeed in recovery without some basic belief in this concept, and that acceptance of this is an ongoing process.

But what I am also realizing is that acceptance of powerlessness does not apply only to recovery.  I am powerless with respect to all people in my life.  I cannot control what they think, say or do, and if I don’t like one of the above, that’s just too damn bad for me.  The sooner I can accept this powerlessness, the happier and more serene I will be.

One of my big character defects is railing against injustice, or what I perceive to be injustice.  Ironically, I used to consider this character defect as a strength… I believed I had a highly developed sense of right and wrong, and I spent a lot of energy in the past trying to get others to see my point of view.

I now realize this is nothing but an overinflated ego on my part, and I have nothing to gain by trying to control the people and events around me.  I have control over exactly one person’s thoughts and actions, and it is enough of a project trying to control my own behaviors!

The upside to all this introspection is that when I truly accept these ideas, my mind and heart are so much calmer, and I really can look at my day with a happier, more serene perspective.

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Do not think of yourself as powerless over people. True, you cannot control what they think or say, but you can control what you do. You have the tools. No one can make people react the way we want, and rather than get frustated about it, let it go and let God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

My journey to lose weight, love exercise, and live healthy one day at a time.

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

Sober girl, loopy world.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Stillness, non-doing, self-discovery and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

