Living in the Moment

I just want to celebrate another day of living

I just want to celebrate another day of… life!

-Rare Earth

I heard the song I quoted above in the car today, and it occurred to me that it shares a central theme with AA:  living in the here and now.  In recovery it is strongly suggested that you live in the present moment, rather than agonizing over past mistakes, or worrying about future disasters.  Both of these behaviors are, first of all, completely unproductive, and secondly, can lead you back to your addictive behaviors.

And when I really try to practice living in the moment, it is truly a liberating experience.  Very, very difficult to master, but I find the more I consciously practice it, the easier it becomes.  And when I am living in the present moment, I truly feel happier and lighter than when I am stressing out about past or future events.  

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Calmness, non-doing, resilience, and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

