Milestones

You know how when you decide to go on a diet, and you try to plan your life out so as not to be around tempting foods?  You throw all the junk out of your house, buy healthy foods, and avoid your favorite unhealthy places to eat?  And then that inevitable event comes up that you can’t get out of, or your office throws a birthday party for a co-worker, and you find yourself surrounded by temptation.  You find yourself resentful of the event, jealous of those around you who can enjoy the tempting food, and wondering why you have to find yourself in that situation in the first place.

Well, anyone taking early recovery seriously employs the same types of strategies in order to get and stay sober/clean, only the consequences of failure are far more devastating that of a failed diet.  We in recovery are taught early on to stay away from people, places and things that we associate with our alcohol/drug use.

For the past 82 days, I have done just that, and it has brought me immense relief.  But just as the dieter cannot eliminate food from his or her life, so too must the recovering addict deal with tempting situations at some point.  I had hoped for myself that the time would come later in my recovery, when I had solid time behind me, but life doesn’t always work out the way I would like.

So I had my first encounter with a person, place or thing today.  And it was hard.  And it was upsetting.  But guess what I found out? 

1.  I have the most amazing network of support that will be there for me at the drop of a hat.

2.  That I am stronger than I think I am.

3.  I have my first real experience involving temptation behind me, and I got through it.

And in a few hours, I will have 83 days!

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The revelations keep happening and your belief in yourself is growning by leaps and bounds. I am sure you are referring to the dentist. You have come so far and I am so proud of you.

    Like

  2. Milestones are what it is all about! So proud of u! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Calmness, non-doing, resilience, and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

