Reflections on the Fourth Step

Since I believe there are no coincidences, the fact that I have been to 3 meetings in the last 7 days centering around the 4th step, I have to deduce that I am meant to reflect on it.

The fourth step is “made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves,” and it is widely viewed as the most intimidating of the 12 steps.  I actually think that the 5th step… telling all about your 4th step to another person… is way scarier, but that’s just my opinion.

When I ponder the 4th step, I have a feeling similar to the feeling I had when I pondered cleaning the basement (see previous post “Baby Steps”)… I am overwhelmed, because I honestly can’t picture completing it.  In fact, it is worse than the basement, because at least I can visualize a clean basement, as I have seen it before.  I have never completed a moral inventory, and I’m not sure I understand what the words mean.

What I do know is the testimony of those before me who have completed the step, and feel something magical happen to them, I have heard about it countless times.  I know I want that feeling, and the idea of truly understanding myself, assets and liabilities, is an exciting concept.  Right now, it’s just the steps I need to take between where I am currently and the end goal of self-awareness that I have no clue.

For now, I just hang on to the idea that when it is time for me to do this step, I will have the courage, and the knowledge, that I need to complete it, searchingly and fearlessly.

Posted on April 14, 2012, in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The only thing you can do with an overwhelming project is start at the beginning and make a list, written or mental and break it down into segments – least important to most important. It will become easier as you go along. Fear is a reason to delay but once you get started you will see the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Self-care, resilience, meaning and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

