The Value of the Meeting

The foundation of any 12 step program is regular attendance at meetings.  You often hear phrases like “keep coming back” and “meeting makers make it.”  I have often wondered what exactly is the magic of simply showing up for an hour each day, sitting with a completely diverse group of people who happen to share a common problem, and talking about that problem?  Because frankly, there were several months where I did make regular attendance at meetings, and the magic absolutely did not happen for me.  So why have the last 60 days been different?

I still don’t have all the answers, and I still believe it is overly simplistic to say just keep coming back and you will get this program.  For me, I believe it is more than regular attendance at meetings that keeps me clean and sober.  For me, a series of life altering events took place, which shook me enough to suspend my desire to relapse.  But, then the magic of the meetings started to happen for me.

First, it felt like an obligation… go to a meeting every day, OR ELSE, and for me I did it to show the people in my life I was serious about recovery.  And I heard things that were valuable, but I’m not sure how much stuck in my head because my life was so chaotic.

Then, as a little time passed, I started to settle in, and I got comfortable with the particular meetings I attended.  I started to see familiar faces, I got the rhythm of the meeting formats. and the repetition of the message started to sink in.

Next, while chaos still loomed large in the rest of my life, I started to think of the meetings as a calm in the storm, a place to feel some measure of peace for an hour while the rest of my life raged around me.  Messages started to hit hard and fast, and very often the central point of the meeting fit so eerily into my life that I realize that there are no coincidences.

Now, I consciously look forward to meetings each day.  I look for ways to share with the group how the meeting, and the program in general, in impacting my life.  I enjoy the small talk before and after the meetings.  And I dream of the day that I have enough clean time to share my story with the group, and lead my own meeting.   Tomorrow I will receive my 60 day coin, and I am as excited to share this with the people in the meeting as I am with my family and friends.  And that excitement I am feeling is absolutely the magic of the meeting at work in my life.

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Recovery. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

losing anonymously

Learning to balance healthy and happy while living a full and busy life!

Oh for the love of...me

Just another 50+ woman trying to get her shit together.

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

Off-Dry

I got sober. Life got big.

HealthyJenn

From daily wine drinker to alcohol free living...this is my journey.

Vodka Goggles

No longer seeing the world through vodka colored glasses..

Pickled Fish

Musings on life and sobriety

katie macbride

Fiction and freelance writer covering addiction, mental health, politics, culture, and the arts

Mindfulbalance

An Irish Mindfulness Meditation Blog: Calmness, non-doing, resilience, and personal development.

SOBERLEARNING

Working one day at a time on sobriety, often winning, but sometimes losing.

viatoday

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Starting today I am on my way.

ainsobriety

Trying to ace sober living

Emotional Sobriety And Food

"... to be able to Twelfth Step ourselves and others into emotional sobriety" -- living, loving & letting go.

girl gone sober.

a blog about living sober. i didn't always drink beer but when i did i drank a lot of it. stay sober my friends.

